Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 12:42 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Does anyone one use VOIP?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 4:09 am 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 7:32 pm
Posts: 1828
Location: Honolulu
If you do use it do u like?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 1:45 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 1:51 pm
Posts: 68
Location: Spacing out at work
We do use VOIP phones at the office, but I don't really like or dislike them. At one point the phones refused to work with a standard dsl line (small office), but now they work well with T1. No problems, easy to use, but I just dont tend to get too excited about phones. I don't pay the bills, so I cant say anything about cost justification - no complaints though.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 6:35 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
fojo86 wrote:
We do use VOIP phones at the office, but I don't really like or dislike them. At one point the phones refused to work with a standard dsl line (small office), but now they work well with T1. No problems, easy to use, but I just dont tend to get too excited about phones. I don't pay the bills, so I cant say anything about cost justification - no complaints though.


I would say that's definitely (note that it is spelled correctly) a positive comment. Basically you pick up the phone and it works. At some point you (your office) made the conversion from TDM to IP-based phone service and you didn't skip a beat...

I'm guessing the accountants might have a grin on their face.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 7:03 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 1176
I used to use www.dialpad.com before they charged, and I liked it. Voice quality was pretty good, and the noyl thing bad was the lag (I called my home phone with dialpad and the lag was about a second!)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 4:43 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:43 pm
Posts: 21
I use VoIP at home, and have no problems with it. I use SIP phones, which I can take anywhere with me and still have my phone number, such as a hotel with a high-speed connection. SIP is cool because once the voip adapter gets an IP address from the network it's on, it communicates with a proxy server at the provider (called a session border controller), which essentially tells the voip equipment "I'm over here", so if someone calls my number the call gets routed through the session border controller and down to my voip adapter.

The only issue I've run into is using it behind some Cisco routers. There is a known bug in some versions of the Cisco IOS that has a problem with voip adapters going through NAT (network address translation), meaning that when I first got my voip I had to have a static IP from my ISP in order to make it work, and put the voip adapter outside of my firewall. I worked with Cisco and got updated code for my router and no longer have to do that.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 5:57 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
SIP phones are cool....one bad thing tho is that unless the network you are on has decent UPS backup, you could lose your phone service.

..but then again I guess the same hold true for 2-wire VoIP phones connected to an IAD :?

anyway, bottom line is that quality has most definitely (note that it is spelled correctly) improved over the years and I think you will see monsterous bumps in the comming years regarding number of subscribers!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 6:12 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:43 pm
Posts: 21
HoOdY wrote:
..but then again I guess the same hold true for 2-wire VoIP phones connected to an IAD :?


That's what I had before, (Cisco ATA186). And stay away from Grandstream devices. I had nothing but problems with those pieces of garbage using them as SIP phones. Dropped connections in the middle of a call were commonplace. Never had that with any other device.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 9:19 pm 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth

Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 11:43 am
Posts: 366
Location: Cowtown, Alberta, Canada
have one at home, it replaced my pots line and it works, pick up get dial tone, and it is crystal clear


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.