Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Nov 28, 2014 10:06 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Verizon with 5Mbps...COX too, right?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 11:07 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24345
Location: South of heaven
I'm just starting to read the Oct issue, and on pg.14 they say Verizon rolls out 5Mbps in fiber optic this past month. While fiber optic is nice, and all...is this a new speed??

I lived in Bakersfield, CA up until this past May. About that time, I had seen Cox advertising 5Mbps but I didn't get it as I was moving. So, I'm just curious if any Cox users have 5Mbps as well.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:05 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
you're ahead of me in your MaxPC reading :(

Is this a new product over fiber of are they offering it over their existing copper infrastructure?

If its only over fiber, then I would bet its only for those who live in newer areas where the cable companies have just recently built-out their infrastructure with fiber as opposed to copper.

I live in a two year old house and the cable co installed copper to me :(


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: New, over fiber
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 10:38 am 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:17 pm
Posts: 145
Location: Chicago area
Here's a link from Ars with a quick blurb about this.

I have family in Keller Texas--maybe it is time to start checking out the job market down there. A fatter upload pipe would be very nice for hosting game servers--I got the hardware, just don't have the capacity.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 3:24 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
Now that I see that article I remember reading about that in the WSJ a month back or so. The Bells need to do something and quick. They are losing market share to cable, wireless and VoIP providers.

I can't even begin to imagine the costs behind such a build-out. but I tell ya one thing..I would sign up!!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Verizon with 5Mbps...COX too, right?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:40 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 9:01 am
Posts: 8091
Chumly wrote:
I'm just starting to read the Oct issue, and on pg.14 they say Verizon rolls out 5Mbps in fiber optic this past month. While fiber optic is nice, and all...is this a new speed??

I lived in Bakersfield, CA up until this past May. About that time, I had seen Cox advertising 5Mbps but I didn't get it as I was moving. So, I'm just curious if any Cox users have 5Mbps as well.


Holy crap! Holy crap! holy crap!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Verizon with 5Mbps...COX too, right?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:33 am 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
Chumly wrote:
I'm just starting to read the Oct issue, and on pg.14 they say Verizon rolls out 5Mbps in fiber optic this past month. While fiber optic is nice, and all...is this a new speed??

I lived in Bakersfield, CA up until this past May. About that time, I had seen Cox advertising 5Mbps but I didn't get it as I was moving. So, I'm just curious if any Cox users have 5Mbps as well.


its true...while i dont have the 5mbps "primere" service.....i still get almost 4mbps(with conection sharing) when tested at ~LINK BROKEN BY MANAGEMENT~ :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2004 12:58 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 7:44 pm
Posts: 162
Another Cox user here.

Standard is the 4Mbps deal. I don't see any the big deal in changing to a new service, since I've already got the modem and the router. For me, it's really the daily/monthly u/l and d/l bandwidth that's more important.

My bandwidth meter on the MSN link: 2.8Mbps



Features - Limits

-Maximum downstream speed: 4 megabits per second
-Maximum upstream speed: 512 kilobits per second
-Maximum monthly consumption cap: 40 gigabytes downstream; 10 gigabytes upstream
-Maximum daily consumption cap: 2 gigabytes downstream; 1 gigabyte upstream (not on service limitation page - found that one out the hard way)
-Size per email message* 5 megabytes
-Size per email account/address 10 megabytes
-Personal WebSpace account size 10 megabytes of disk space per email address
-Personal WebSpace traffic 300 megabytes of traffic per month (for visitors viewing your pages)

*Size per email message reflects the largest email you can send, including attachments and encoding. Email messages larger than the currenlty available amount of space in your email box may be returned to sender as undeliverable.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 5:57 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 7:30 pm
Posts: 1691
Location: Houston Texas
it has a maximum upload and download limit? wtf? does dsl and cable have this?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 7:23 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 7:44 pm
Posts: 162
Dude, every ISP should impose this on their customers. Most people just never fill it up.


I mean, honestly, have you ever broken the bandwidth consumption i've listed?

This doesn't count for using any type of LAN - school, work, etc. Strictly home use.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 3:29 am 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 1176
Quote:
-Maximum monthly consumption cap: 40 gigabytes downstream; 10 gigabytes upstream
-Maximum daily consumption cap: 2 gigabytes downstream; 1 gigabyte upstream (not on service limitation page - found that one out the hard way)



Quote:
I mean, honestly, have you ever broken the bandwidth consumption i've listed?

Yes, I break it all the time. With BitTorrent open, I do about 5GB down, 3 GB up each day. Sometimes I use even more transfer (i.e. when also downloading Linux disc images).

I couldn't stand to have a transfer cap.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 7:05 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 7:44 pm
Posts: 162
Good god.......... can you tell me what service you're using? I think it's time for me to switch.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: MediaCOM Costumers
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 7:03 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 2
Hello all. I am going to see if the local cable companys are going to compete with this. I will post a follow up.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: No Responce
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 4:51 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 2
Wow cable company have no comment....guess im switching to verizon soon as its avaible in my area


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.