Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:32 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Port 80
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:18 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 12:32 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Iowa
Should I block it and if so how can it be done?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:26 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
Im going to assume you are obviously talking about inbound port 80 traffic...and that you are not already using NAT, if you were it would most likely already be blocked.

Where did you want to block it? your router (at the demarc)? or at the PC..if the PC, which OS do you run?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: port 80
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:46 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 12:32 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Iowa
On firewall tests they say port 80 is open and they say it ia security risk.

I do not know more than that. I have a combo wireless router/switch and pcs with xp pro and win2k.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:52 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
It's open on the router because that's how you log into it to perform administrative tasks.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: prt 80
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 7:16 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 12:32 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Iowa
I just posted a reply. I don't know why it showed up as a new thread.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 3:35 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
yea but you can block port 80 on the WAN side but have it open on the LAN side for configuration. It's prolly a good idea to turn off the setting that allows remote (via the WAN side) configuration on your router.

So you are running the test from a remote host (ie. a web site)? If so, then try looking through your firewall settings.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 8:45 pm 
I judge you GUILTY!
I judge you GUILTY!
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 4:38 pm
Posts: 162
Location: New York City
First find out what kind of router do you have.
What are you using to test your router as well.
In any case, with this information, I can help you, but most likely you're safe regardless.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.