Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:04 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 9:30 am 
All Your Basestar Are Belong to Us
All Your Basestar Are Belong to Us
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:40 am
Posts: 3219
Location: Da Basestar
gramaton cleric wrote:
i work there 20+ hours every weekend so i could get a crap load of free tickets.


NOW you tell me?!? I paid $60 for a lift ticket, and I wound up not skiing after 4PM.

Yeesh.

Seriously, what part of your anatomy do I have to kiss to get a freebie next time?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 10:12 am 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 27374
Location: In a cage, dumbass.
Number Six wrote:
NOW you tell me?!? I paid $60 for a lift ticket, and I wound up not skiing after 4PM.


4PM? Did you wait for night skiing to open up so you could save some bucks or something?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 12:24 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
Number Six wrote:
sfhc777x wrote:
Here is the Louisville area, there is a compnay offering it for 450 a month


Thanks. Alas, once again, this all has been friggin' rendered moot by TPTB at my office, I'm now out of the loop.

If they get it though, I'll be sure to let everyone know. Thanks again for all the feedback. Now, back to our irregularly scheduled Ski Windham discussion :P


its called windham mountain now because we dont want to descriminate(bad spelling) against them snowboarders. and as it comes to tickets its no big deal. just give me fair warning and i'll most likely be able to hook you up. the only thing is that i'm in school :roll: so won't be able to give you the ticket unless you want to go to our school. you actually could do that....but yea. we can work that out later. just give me like a weeks warning and i'll be able to get you a ticket and $1000 dollar skis for the day(thank my dad) or a $500 snowboard(again from my dad). PM me with details and i'll see what i can do. but seriously....everyone come for pondskimming. i can get everyone food and skis.

and yea....night skiing rocks....but it ends soon, end of presidents day weekend if i'm not mistaken?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 2:58 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
gramaton cleric wrote:
but seriously....everyone come for pondskimming. i can get everyone food and skis.


I'm in, my skis are waxed and ready to go, let's solidify a date this can happen


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 3:34 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
march 26th would be best IMO. its the end of the season and the boss wouldnt give a shit about tickets and my dad wouldn't mind giving ski's to you guys. any high end ski you want can be yours for a day!as seen here so give me feedback on that date and give me a headcount.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:01 pm 
7yrs+11,000 Posts
7yrs+11,000 Posts
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 11242
Location: The kitten above is not on fire.
can u like pm me your adress, i wanna enter it into mapquest and see how long of a drive it is. If I evr meet number 6 i will be begging for access to the PC :wink:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:26 pm 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 27374
Location: In a cage, dumbass.
gamerfreak wrote:
can u like pm me your adress, i wanna enter it into mapquest and see how long of a drive it is. If I evr meet number 6 i will be begging for access to the PC :wink:


Its at least a 3 year drive for you. When you hit 16, he'll give you the address.

Maybe.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:56 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
i'm nice and trusting but you....my address...think again. but even better then my address is this link http://windhammountain.com/html/mtn_get ... .php#drive

Lodging and information: 800-754-9463
Office and general information: 518-734-4300
Fax number: 518-734-5732

e-mail: info@windhammountain.com

Windham Mountain
P.O. Box 459
Windham, NY 12496
(Located on C.D. Lane Rd. in Windham)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 9:50 am 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 1:55 pm
Posts: 3886
Location: Kicking the crap out of the people who lied to me about using Folding@Home and those who declined!!
T1 costs way too much for me. broadband for me...not yet though....i got 56k thats on average 52k


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 2:21 pm 
I like orange
I like orange
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 50
Hey, Number Six. I used to be a regional manager for a wireless ISP so I have a bit of info on some of the NxT1 or even vanilla T1 costs.

It really depends on a variety of factors. One of them is how close you are to a line and does it have to be routed to your locale. I've seen people in BFE who had a line running in the front of their property so it really depends on where you are located. In a major area, it shouldn't be much of an issue.

However, you will likely pay to have that routed to your locale and that can be pricey. You would then need a router with a T1 WIC on it. Cisco makes quite a few of these as you might imagine.

You can find some deals on ebay but likely you're gonna pay $150+ just for the WIC unless you have some sort of hookup somewhere.

Then you have the monthly costs, which can range anywhere from $400-800/mo. depending on where you live again. Yes, they base this number on where you want the drop.

It's stupid if you ask me but that's the game they play.

Hope that helps.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 5:13 pm 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 2:05 pm
Posts: 1739
Location: howell, mi
Whats the T1 going to be used for?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 5:15 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 1:55 pm
Posts: 3886
Location: Kicking the crap out of the people who lied to me about using Folding@Home and those who declined!!
pr0n of course!!! n00b!!!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 5:28 pm 
I like orange
I like orange
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 50
Or his nexus to his zombie bed so he can stand up and take over the world!!!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 5:37 pm 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 2:05 pm
Posts: 1739
Location: howell, mi
T1 just for a porn server, wow *teardrop* thank god.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How much should a full T1 cost?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 7:20 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:59 pm
Posts: 1579
Location: Straight Up, Extra Dry, With a Twist!
Number Six wrote:
Looking to get a T1 since my cable connection is lame these days.

How much should a full 1.5Mb/s T1 cost in the New York area?

-Six


Yea, just wait for the 10Mbit/sec broadband to hit your neck o' the woods. The reason why T1 is ungodly expensive is because you can split the damn thing a helluva lot more that you can a Broadband cable connection I believe, anyone else care to correct me on this?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 7:59 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 9:01 am
Posts: 8091
A T1 is just a bunch of phone wires wrapped in a cable. You can split a broadband connection with a router just the same.

The primary difference is the level of support and the guaranteed uptime that T1's commonly carry. With a broadband connection you have to worry about both you're connection to your local server as well as its connection to the net and the possibility of prolonged downtime. With a T1 all you have to worry about is *your* physical connection to the net (almost always well thought out and secured) and if something should happen to happen with how loudly you want to yell at the phone company to fix it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 5:17 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 637
Location: MA
T1's for the most part are a business-class service. The support you receive will most likely be far superior and theoretically you will have less down time and better SLAs.

Most providers will bundle multiple public IPs to the service...and even though the downstream is weak compared to what we expereience nowadays with residential broadband, the upstream is still 1.5Mbps (same as down).

If you read through some of service agreements for residential broadband, some only allow 1 connected PC...or a couple at most (no sharing with your neighbor stuff). T1 service contracts aren't like that...you could theortically use it to be your own ISP.

Pricing is based on two things...port charge and local loop. The port charge is what the ISP charges you for the actual data bandwidth and the local loop is the cost of the circuit passed on from the ILEC...The LL charge is distance-based and can be pricey depending on your distance from the CO.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group