Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 6:30 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: The "Real" Pop-Up blocker
PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 1:22 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 10:53 am
Posts: 291
Location: Northern Michigan
http://www.mozilla.org/

Since this folder is fresh and new, time to bring light to the webs best browser, or at least in my humble opinion.

Mozilla suite has just been updated to version 1.7, runs solid as a rock.

And, if you are looking for something fast and smaller in size, try the Firefox browser, now at version 0.9.

Can't beat it, and the pop-up blocker built in works great!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 2:16 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
i personally like FireFox and Thunderbird seperate...i dont know why though


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 3:01 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 10:53 am
Posts: 291
Location: Northern Michigan
funny you mention that.
I just switched to Firefox 0.9 and Thunderbird 0.7 and they are sweet!

If you are using Firefox, check out this Extension, called AdBlock

http://adblock.mozdev.org/dev.html

You can even train it to get rid of those damn Flash ads.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:04 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 1:54 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Shaw AFB SC
I am having a problem with Firefox. I goto www.windowsupdate.com and i cannot get it to show up, where as, it shows up in Internet exploder. Any Ideas?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:37 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 10:53 am
Posts: 291
Location: Northern Michigan
Sure, WindowsUpdate only work in IE due to the ActiveX controls.
ActiveX is not in Mozilla or Firefox.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:45 pm 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 27374
Location: In a cage, dumbass.
Rosco[CoF] wrote:
Sure, WindowsUpdate only work in IE due to the ActiveX controls.
ActiveX is not in Mozilla or Firefox.


I was gonna say that, but I thought it was too obvious. :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:53 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 10:53 am
Posts: 291
Location: Northern Michigan
well, you never know.
Moz has no plans either in developing AciveX into its browsers either last I heard.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:59 pm 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 27374
Location: In a cage, dumbass.
Rosco[CoF] wrote:
well, you never know.
Moz has no plans either in developing AciveX into its browsers either last I heard.


You don't think that would hurt them in the long run?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:06 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 10:53 am
Posts: 291
Location: Northern Michigan
No, I don't think it would put a dent in the project. IE comes with it, and if someone feels the need to do a Win Update IE is right there to handle the OS requirements.

I do stand corrected though about Moz research in it.

http://www.mozilla.org/start/1.5/faq/br ... l#active-x

http://www.iol.ie/~locka/mozilla/mozilla.htm

Not sure if this would allow WinUpdate functionality though.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 5:46 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Georgia
I love Mozilla its the best IMO.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 5:53 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 10:53 am
Posts: 291
Location: Northern Michigan
Good to hear!!

You use Moz or Firefox?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 6:37 am 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
Rosco[CoF] wrote:
No, I don't think it would put a dent in the project. IE comes with it, and if someone feels the need to do a Win Update IE is right there to handle the OS requirements.

I do stand corrected though about Moz research in it.

http://www.mozilla.org/start/1.5/faq/br ... l#active-x

http://www.iol.ie/~locka/mozilla/mozilla.htm

Not sure if this would allow WinUpdate functionality though.


if Moz/Firefox added ActiveX functionality, that would make it vulnerable to the same spywares that plague IE?

also wanted to add that Firefox is up to 0.9.2 now.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 6:45 am 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 10:53 am
Posts: 291
Location: Northern Michigan
I would assume if they added it, it would be a module that can be enabled or disabled, same as Java. You can disable Java in Moz if you want to.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 7:01 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:20 am
Posts: 77
Location: Mt. Sinai
BiggPa wrote:
i personally like FireFox and Thunderbird seperate...i dont know why though


As do I =)

~War


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group