Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 2:29 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

What is your favorite Programming Language?
Poll ended at Fri Dec 31, 2004 1:05 pm
C/C++ 43%  43%  [ 3 ]
C# 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Java 29%  29%  [ 2 ]
VB 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
PHP 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
LISP 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
LISP 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Perl 14%  14%  [ 1 ]
Python 14%  14%  [ 1 ]
Total votes : 7
 Post subject: C# Anyone?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 1:05 pm 

Ok, so I'm brand new here, and I've just briefly perused the topics. And I've noticed something.

There's a lot of Java people here, there's a fair amount of C++ people here, but I haven't really seen any C# posts.

I write software for a living, and I've done C++ and I will be doing Java soon, but currently I'm focusing on C# *Windows* development (not web development).

The question then, that I want to ask for those in the industry is: How much C# do you see out there? Do you see it growing, shrinking, dying, etc? Any stats supporting your answers would be kewl to see too.

-a

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 1:22 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100

I see it growing.
In fact, I know of a new forum run by the same guy that ran cpp-home.com built just for C#.

I personally like C++ the best. It provides me with enough control so that I am happy :)

The other thing is OO: OOP is very useful, but I think Java is taking it overboard with the necessity to have EVERYTHING in classes. That, IMO, is just stupid.

The other thing I like about C++ is that you can generate small, fast code (granted, not as small or fast as if you wrote it in assembly, but I'd like some interface to programming). In Java, you run a virtual machine (that takes up about 45 MB of memory every time for me). In C#, you can only develop for Windows (though there are compilers being written for other platforms).

C++ is the best solution to the majority of problems.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 2:06 pm 
In the lab!
In the lab!