Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:45 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Anyone do DBA Consulting or know someone that does?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:55 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Hello all :D

I am trying to get into doing Database Consulting (SQL Server) and want to know what it is I should know in order to get into doing that?

I know I am a ways off still but I am going for my SQL server 2005 certificate. I have 10 years of pro IT experience and 4 years experience in designing/implementing and maintaining databases.

So...any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated =)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 1:43 pm 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie

Before getting into any kind of consulting, it generally helps a lot to have experience in the field. You don't (generally) walk from school / certs straight into a career in consulting because no one wants to hire a consultant with no experience. Full time positions often require some in-house training, so you can get a job without experience, but consultants are assumed to be ready to work without any training .. that only comes with experience.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 8:43 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Thanks Jipstyle :D

As you can see from my post, I do have 4 years experience. I am getting this certificate to solidify my experience so not only can I demonstrate what I know but I also have something that says 'yes I do know something'. I like having a combination of the 2. My main questions are really;

1) Do I need a business license of some sort?
2) Is it best to find some sort of consulting firms? If so how do I find them?
3) Is it better to fly solo? If so, whats the best way in going about getting clients?
4) Assuming one flies solo, what are the best practices in charging people? How do you know how much to charge?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 11:46 am 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie