Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:50 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: programming environments and languages
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:09 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

hey, i'm curious what your favorite or what you think the best IDE is. I graduated about 6 months ago with a degree in computer engineering, and i always had trouble with my computer science classes, so i'm trying to sharpen up my programming skills on my own at home. what programming environment would you recommend for writing C programs?

also, besides C what languages are most widely used and desirable for companies? i've "learned" some Ada, Perl, C, and assembly language in school. should i expand on those or move to something else? i've got plenty of time to learn and practice; i'm committed to the military for 4.5 more years. thanks.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:51 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100

Microsoft Visual Studio and Eclipse are the best IDEs, IMO.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:12 am 
SON OF A GUN
SON OF A GUN

I am a HUGE fan of Visual Studio. Especially if you get into a big team-based environment and you have the Team Suite. I saw a brief demo of it, and it was amazing how well it worked and allowed everybody to be involved in the development and testing process. I am really excited to see VS2008. Too bad that it won't support .NET 2.0, 1.1x was good, but I think they REALLY hit things right with 2.0.

That being said, C# is exploding the past couple years. C/C++ are still used very heavily, and will probably never, ever die.

If you want something small/light weight for C/C++ work, you could look into these:
http://www.bloodshed.net/devcpp.html
http://www.codeblocks.org/

There is another free IDE that is based on dev cpp, but I don't recall its name.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 4:43 pm 
Million Club - 5 Plus*
Million Club - 5 Plus*

Visual Studio++;