Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 11:21 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Learning to Program
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:42 pm 

Hi, this is my first post! I was wondering if someone could help me. I bought this book for programming in C++, and it says that after I learn that, I have to learn how to program in windows. I'm kinda new to all this stuff, and I was wondering if someone could recommend a programming language to learn for building nice, functional programs.

Oh yeah, if you work with notepad a lot, consider editpad lite. It's free, and offers tools that notepad doesn't. You can get it at...well, search for it on Google. :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:52 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100

You don't have to :)

C++ is a widely-portable language: every platform I've ever used has a compiler. Hell, every platform that I've heard of (that wasn't one of the small projects in development) has one.

You can stick with regular int main() and int main(int argc, char *argv[]) if you so desire :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:01 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Get away from Microshaft. Program under a Linux environment. Once you get a taste of the non-Bill Gates Is My Daddy paradigm, you'll be able to see the full strengths and weakness of each programming platform. After an evaluation, go back to Windows if you like, but IMHO programming for a winblows platform sucks.

Another reason to learn it under a POSIX compliant system is that your code will work across more platforms.

As an added bonus, the _BEST_ compiler out there right now is completely free. It is known as gcc.
http://gcc.gnu.org/

Kybo: Who is that chick in your avatar?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 8:16 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100

Quote:
Kybo: Who is that chick in your avatar?