Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Sep 14, 2014 8:16 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Videogames...
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 1:43 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Not sure if this is right for posting, but what the hey: suck it up princess, videogames are multimedia too...

I need advice on how to develop videogames... what total amount of software do I need (for Windows or Linux). (I already have a huge server on the way with a nice high powered Nvidia card on the way) I want the professional business type programs (you can eliminate 3D studio max - knew about that one a while ago)... what else do I need? (can't provide facts without websites)

Also I was wondering how on earth developers are able to get the games to multiple platforms (PC, MAC, xbox, Ps2, GC etc.) all in one shot (then again there is a reason why they take 3-5 years to make a game, isn't there)

Post subject: Multiple Platforms
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 3:14 am 

How? I'm not a programmer, I don't know. But if you notice, games are primarily programmed for one platform in the cases of multiple developments--so one version will have little things that look strange. For example, Deus Ex 2 went from being a depthy RPG to...universal ammo and a look thats alot more console-ly than PC.

Nowadays there are alot of companies whose job is emulation software--their primary goal is to emulate code from one platform with as little performance loss as possible.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 5:33 am 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*

ok bro you lose on two accounts. theres two folders this should go to. theres a folder just for games and theres a folder just for programming, this would def. not be the right place to post.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 4:34 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

gramaton cleric wrote: