Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 6:38 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Interesting read about computer science...
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 12:52 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000

So now, computer science is becoming a boom again?

http://www.nytimes.com/roomfordebate/20 ... -tech-bust

This is just one of many articles in the debate.

My point of view? I wouldn't be surprised if there is a boom in CS enrollments, partly because of movies like "The Social Network" and recent news regarding LinkedIn, GroupOn and Pandora stocks (even if they did go down - significantly).

However, back when I was in college, around the 2000 tech-boom, many students signed up for computer science for all the wrong reasons (including myself). I enjoyed video games and putting together PC's, but the prospects of advanced mathematics and algorithms classes left me wondering. When I graduated, only then did it make sense to me.

I guess my concern is that people study computers for the wrong reasons. We have a recent hire here, Systems Analyst I, went to school at DeVry where I often wondered what in the world did they teach him. He seems to know nothing about computers, almost like his degree was just a puff of smoke. No one teaches problem solving the way problem solving ought to be taught, and by golly, we have students graduating from universities who are just as clueless about coding as my pet dog - who doesn't exist.