Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:49 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: PHP Debugging
PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2010 2:46 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 6:25 am
Posts: 87
I'm curious if anyone can give some specific instructions on how to get a good IDE setup to debug PHP applications. I am tired of needing to use an echo for debugging - I'd much rater be able to set breakpoints from the IDE - step through code etc, much like I do when working with .NET

I know there is a paid program out there, VS PHP or something, but I'd rather get it done with something free such as Eclipse or Netbeans, whichever works best.

I've tried folloiwing some examples on some websites, but they never end up working correctly.

And in case it matters, I'm running Windows 7


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:29 am 
SON OF A GUN
SON OF A GUN
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:41 am
Posts: 11605
Stop using PHP...

There isn't a good way to debug it that I have seen. I gave up caring about PHP though. It made me angry in so many ways, because of just that. Tutorials not working correctly.

What tuts have you tried?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 2:32 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 6:25 am
Posts: 87
CrashTECH wrote:
Stop using PHP...

There isn't a good way to debug it that I have seen. I gave up caring about PHP though. It made me angry in so many ways, because of just that. Tutorials not working correctly.

What tuts have you tried?


I don't have direct links to the tutorials - but I have tried many, even some from Netbeans own website, as well as Zend's website.

And I would take your advice to leave PHP - however I have some projects I'm working on and my clients are using PHP.


I guess I'll just have to stick with the echo statements.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 6:56 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 1:27 pm
Posts: 3311
Location: Toronto, ON
Yeah, I'm doing PHP for school. Extremely frustrating when debugging compared to a language like Java. For example, if I misspell a variable name, I'll get an error in Java, however, nothing happens in PHP. If I try to echo it out, it's just blank.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 4:46 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 4:04 pm
Posts: 985
Location: Earth
CrashTECH wrote:
Stop using PHP...

There isn't a good way to debug it that I have seen. I gave up caring about PHP though. It made me angry in so many ways, because of just that. Tutorials not working correctly.


Lack of a solid debugger pissed me off. Even Classic ASP had a debugger in Visual Studio 6, yeesh. .NET made my life a lot easier, been using it since. Ruby on Rails is pretty neat too, if you're on OS X you could get AquaMacs (emacs for Mac) and it's pretty robust for Rails dev. I'd code in RoR or .NET anyday.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 7:02 am 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 6:37 pm
Posts: 2261
Location: No. 1 Thread Killer
Try Greeble.

I personally haven't used it but I then again, I don't use PHP, however I hear this is an extremely powerful codebase to try out.

Quote:
It has many features such as built-in error logging, localization, and easy object-oriented database access.


Could it be what you need?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 11:40 am 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24226
Location: Granite Heaven
Proper unit testing ftw?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:08 pm 
SON OF A GUN
SON OF A GUN
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:41 am
Posts: 11605
Unit tests? wtf are those?

btw, if PHP had something like this (maybe it does, I just don't care to follow it) it would help: http://code.google.com/p/moq/


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:16 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 4:04 pm
Posts: 985
Location: Earth
CrashTECH wrote:
Unit tests? wtf are those?

btw, if PHP had something like this (maybe it does, I just don't care to follow it) it would help: http://code.google.com/p/moq/


meh, even if you could do unit testing on PHP the fact is, no debugger means difficult time tracking bugs.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 10:22 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 1176
guoruiwu1994 wrote:
Yeah, I'm doing PHP for school. Extremely frustrating when debugging compared to a language like Java. For example, if I misspell a variable name, I'll get an error in Java, however, nothing happens in PHP. If I try to echo it out, it's just blank.

Have you turned on error reporting in php.ini?


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.