Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 2:43 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Problem with Vista 64 bit compatibility
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:11 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 7:36 pm
Posts: 275
Theres this program I've been trying to install on Vista 64 bit, that was compiled in vb6 that installs a bird tracking software. But when I tried to install it I get a runtime error '5', but then when I run it in administrator mode it runs the instillation. The owner is going to give me the source code to try and figure it out, but I have no idea how I can recode the program so the run time error doesn't come up. Or can I program it so that it runs in administrator mode by default? I'm a little rusty at vb6 so if anyone could help that would be a tremendous help to me thank you.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 5:03 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 1:27 pm
Posts: 3311
Location: Toronto, ON
Runtime error '5' is basically a privilege error. You need to modify the installer so that it doesn't need admin privileges.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 5:13 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 7:36 pm
Posts: 275
How would I go about doing that?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 5:15 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 7:36 pm
Posts: 275
I was talking to someone else and he said it might have something to do with vista's lockdown issue? He then told me to check the file paths and then he told me "unfortuneitly idk of a way to get round the vista lockdown unless u change file paths properly" I'm, not sure what he was trying to say?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 6:07 pm 
Million Club - 5 Plus*
Million Club - 5 Plus*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 6:37 pm
Posts: 4745
Location: In the monkey's litterbox
It's a UAC issue, and you need to add a manifest to the VB6 app that requests elevation. You don't need the source to do this.

http://www.randem.com/vistaadmin.html

Or, since you're getting the source -- port it to VB.NET


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:25 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
Just curious - what is this "bird tracking" software?


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group