Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:04 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How do I hook up my PS3 to my audio card?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 12:24 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 601
I was just wondering how I connect my PS3 (through optical) to my audio card. What I tried before was hooking up through the optical-in and just using PCM in the optical settings on the PS3. This led to digital noise / crackling when I started a game - but this only happened when I put in a disc , the save files (with audio clips on them) worked fine.

What can I do to alleviate this? Is it even possible for it to work?

I used a HT Omega Striker 7.1 (which I now sold) but if I did get a new card it would probably be the Claro+. My guess is the bitrate/freq isn't compatible but if anybody has any idea I would be grateful.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do I hook up my PS3 to my audio card?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:31 pm 
Team Dino
Team Dino
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:29 am
Posts: 6123
Location: Huntsville, Alabama.
Check the sound card specs to see what codecs it can take in.

Since you don't have a soundcard I couldn't begin to tell you though.

n0b0dykn0ws


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do I hook up my PS3 to my audio card?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:25 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 601
I did have the Striker. What I had setup in the PS3 was Linear PCM with only the preselected 44 / 48.x freqs. The Striker was able to (or at least it was supported) play up to that spec.

Even then there was just digital noise coming out of the speakers / headphones. Not actual sound.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do I hook up my PS3 to my audio card?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:30 pm 
Team Dino
Team Dino
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:29 am
Posts: 6123
Location: Huntsville, Alabama.
Output does not equal input though.

n0b0dykn0ws


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do I hook up my PS3 to my audio card?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:45 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 601
I never thought of that. Is there a piece of hardware that would act as an "interconnect" ? Like a receiver - but not as expensive? I like to keep things simple but am lost on what to do.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group