Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Apr 16, 2014 9:26 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SAMSUNG/NETFLIX STREAMING PROBLEMS
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:18 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 12:26 pm
Posts: 2
I recently purchased a Samsung blu-ray dvd player with netflix streaming capability. I have a wireless router and purchased a samsung wireless device but the router is too far away. My pc and router are upstairs and the hdtv and blu-ray player are downstairs. I have an old comcast modem but but comcast blocked that device. Can I buy a new modem and use it without comcast blocking it ? They want to charge me $45/month to watch netflix..any suggestions?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 9:46 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
huh? Exactly what is comcast wanting to charge $45 for, because I have a hard time believing that it's to access netflix's service.

Are you looking to connect your blu-ray player via ethernet bby chance?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 2:34 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 8:44 am
Posts: 214
You don't want a modem. You want a router. Plug your router into your modem, and your computer into your router. If you cannot get a wireless signal on your Blu-ray player, then run an ethernet cable from the router to the player. Its that simple.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: samsung/netflix
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:50 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 12:26 pm
Posts: 2
I have a wireless router upstairs...to far for wireless and too far for a cable. i had an old comcast modem that i hooked up to the cable outlet by our hdtv and comcast hdcable box...i have a 1 to 2 splitter...hooded one cable to the hd cablebox and the other to the modem...it worked for awhile until comcast blocked their old modem. they want $45/monthy to hook up the old modem. If i buy a new modem (that isnt from comcast) from best buy and hook it up with the splitter and ethernet cabel do you think it would work?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 6:20 pm 
Team Dino
Team Dino
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:29 am
Posts: 6099
Location: Huntsville, Alabama.
So you have a second modem that Comcast had provided previously for their service, and you're trying to use it in addition to the current router.

Is that correct?

That would explain why they want the additional $45 a month.

That's a second internet connection.

No, getting a modem from Best Buy or anywhere else won't work, and please don't ask to get around this as it would be theft of internet service, and against the forum rules.

You need to run cable, try a repeater, or try to move the wifi router to a better spot.

n0b0dykn0ws


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: samsung/netflix
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 6:20 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500

Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 11:15 am
Posts: 1431
labguy49 wrote:
I have a wireless router upstairs...to far for wireless and too far for a cable. i had an old comcast modem that i hooked up to the cable outlet by our hdtv and comcast hdcable box...i have a 1 to 2 splitter...hooded one cable to the hd cablebox and the other to the modem...it worked for awhile until comcast blocked their old modem. they want $45/monthy to hook up the old modem. If i buy a new modem (that isnt from comcast) from best buy and hook it up with the splitter and ethernet cabel do you think it would work?


No, and then you'd be stealing cable. As much as i hate comcast, its not their fault that your router isnt strong enough to transmit to where you have your TV. The only reason the "old" modem worked at all is because at one point in time comcast had it registered in their system to your account, if you go and out and buy a brand new modem its just going to sit on your TV stand and blink because comcast has not activated it.

what is the distance from your router to your TV? What kind of router do you currently have? how much money are you willing to spend on new hardware in order to get this to work? Are you opposed to cutting holes in your wall and running Ethernet cable throughout the house?


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group