Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 8:38 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Bah humbug...
PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:19 pm 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 5:30 pm
Posts: 1685
Location: Portland,OR
My Gigabyte GA-M57-SLI-S4 just died.(I can smell this disgusting smell coming off the board when I opened my case.) Thankfully,I just ordered a new motherboard.My new motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H. Cost me $138.99 with $9.39 3 day UPS shipping,but I wanted guaranteed support for my Phenom 9950BE.

God this sucks...


Just goes to show you can't trust everything you see. I bought my GA-M57-SLI-S4 hoping it would support my Phenom 9950BE. Apparently,the 125-watt 9950BE was too much for the board to handle.

Thank god for having a backup Linux PC to use.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bah humbug...
PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:48 pm 
Million Club
Million Club

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:37 pm
Posts: 639
Looking at this http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/Moth ... uctID=2287

What is the difference between your CPU and the 9850, I'm not familiar with AMD but if the MOBO supports 125 watt CPU's then what went wrong?



Edit
Which revision do you have?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 7:06 pm 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 5:30 pm
Posts: 1685
Location: Portland,OR
The revision I had was rev 2.0.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bah humbug...
PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:02 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 12:57 am
Posts: 9
rboezeman wrote:
Looking at this http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/Moth ... uctID=2287

What is the difference between your CPU and the 9850, I'm not familiar with AMD but if the MOBO supports 125 watt CPU's then what went wrong?



Edit
Which revision do you have?


My understanding is that sometimes motherboard manufacturers claim that boards support certain High wattage CPU's just because it will post and enter the OS on the board , without the boards Chipset and/OR VRM (Voltage Regulator Module) really be able to handle the load for the long term and then after a certain amount of time it can fry the board. For example AMD's website states that the AMD 770 chipset does not properly support greater than 95 watt processors but many boards with that chipset are stated as being supported. I don't know how accurate it is but AMD's site lists the 790FX and 790GX as the only properly supported chipsets.

http://products.amd.com/en-us/RecommendedMBFilter.aspx


Last edited by LA on Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:04 pm 
Monkey Fed [PC]
Monkey Fed [PC]
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:53 pm
Posts: 7076
Keep in mind that it's not just the chipset that will determine support. In this case, it actually may be the quality of the mobo and the traces supplying power to the CPU, not to mention the voltage regulators/IC's.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Joy oh Joy...
PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:10 pm 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 5:30 pm
Posts: 1685
Location: Portland,OR
My new motherboard(Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H) is installed and working. I had to do a fresh install of Windows Vista Ultimate,but now it's working fine. (Now the tedious part- re-installing all my games and add ons.)

I sure love Gigabyte....


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group