Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:45 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: ALienware the best? not in this universe!
PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 12:00 pm 

Recently I and my wife's buisness needed a high powered mobile system to help us in our jobs. I am a teacher in the medical field and my wife owns a Photography studio. I was looking for a pretty powerful system that had the capacity for high memory, graphics and speed. I was put onto Alienware by some ad's, checking the spec's and comparing the system to what was out there. For my budget this system Alienware Area 51m 7700 seem like the most likely choice. I custom ordered the system to meet out spec's and waited anxiously for the system to arrive. When it did I installed the rest of the hardware and was quite pleased witht the system. That is for the 2 weeks that it ran correctly. Soon we were having problems withnthe system. and by week 3 they were becoming severe. I called Alienware tech support and then things really went down hill! First the internet quit working then the system said we had never activated Windows XP Pro which I had. Alienware of course stated it was not there problem after 2 hours on the phone with then and sent me the Microsoft where I spent another 2 hours on the phone only for them to tell me that it was not there problem and that they would not help due to the program being an OEM version of XP. NOw when I ordered the system I paid extra for WIndows XP pro and expected to get XP pro not something else. This sent me back to Alienware where there answer was to wipe out the system and reboot. Well I informed them that I was currently at work and did not have the disk with me to do this. I had to teach on the other side of the state for 2 days and when I came back I called them the next morning. They sounded suprised that I had called them back since they had not heard from me in 2 days they assumed it was fixed. I assured them it was not. They attemted t