Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Jul 10, 2014 6:17 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Cleaning your PC --- With a Vacuum Cleaner ???
PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 7:03 am 

I am a long time reader (think "Boot" era), and for the first time I have to take issue with something you suggest. In the "Clean Your PC" article you suggest using a vacuum cleaner inside a computer. Your may want to mention that since vacuum cleaners are a great way to generate static electricity that it is possible (and quite easy) to fry computer components if you happen to get a little too close or (worse yet) touch anything other than the case. I have actually watched a friend toast a motherboard (I did warn him). I personally would strongly discourage using a vacuum anywhere other than than the outside of the case.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 7:11 am 
Million Club 2+ [PC]*
Million Club 2+ [PC]*

I've been using a small shop vac to clean computers since 1990. Haven't toasted anything yet. It's not likely you'll harm anything unless you're just completely careless around electronics. I would imagine the large majority of MaximumPC readers have enough knowledge to use the simplest of ESD precautions.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 10:53 am 
Super Mario Banhammer
Super Mario Banhammer

Just vacuumed out the dust from my wife's gaming rig yesterday. Lots of high end parts in that machine that I paid for. Lots of data on the drives. Lots of grief if I screwed it up. I sucked dust into the vacuum cleaner right off the Graphics Card and within discharge distance of the ram and cpu. No loss of high end pc parts. No loss of data and no grief. Why? I did it properly. Case standing on an anti static pad, me grounded to a wall socket, vacuum likewise grounded and didnt actually come in to close proximity to the components.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2009 5:49 pm