Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 3:42 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: DM 2004 memory/storage questions
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:10 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:04 pm
Posts: 19
why wasn't the memory maxed out i read that the dm 2004 only used one gig of ram? why not get some sone one gig sticks of ram and max out on memory? i always thought more meant better is there some kind of bottleneck?

second question? is it possible to run a raid configuration on those 300gb maxotor diamondmax 10 drives?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DM 2004 memory/storage questions
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 5:10 am 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 9:06 pm
Posts: 1508
Location: Mother/Daughterboard Orgy
dayvideg wrote:
why wasn't the memory maxed out i read that the dm 2004 only used one gig of ram? why not get some sone one gig sticks of ram and max out on memory? i always thought more meant better is there some kind of bottleneck?


Yes, you can have too much. First of all, WinXP only handles so much. Second, too much slows down your machine because its constantly being refreshed. Third, this is a PC, not a workstation. If we started seeing SCSI and pro-video cards, THEN I could see getting a lot of RAM.

dayvideg wrote:
second question? is it possible to run a raid configuration on those 300gb maxotor diamondmax 10 drives?


Why not?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DM 2004 memory/storage questions
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 4:49 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 6:31 pm
Posts: 1366
dayvideg wrote:
why wasn't the memory maxed out i read that the dm 2004 only used one gig of ram? why not get some sone one gig sticks of ram and max out on memory? i always thought more meant better is there some kind of bottleneck?

second question? is it possible to run a raid configuration on those 300gb maxotor diamondmax 10 drives?


We used 2GB of memory in the Dream Machine, which is overkill already. And second, yes we could have run the DiamondMax hard drives in RAID 0, but running the main drives in RAID is risky enough, so it'd be doubly dangerous to have our backup drives in RAID as well.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group