Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 8:27 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Regarding the MaxPC website...
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 8:47 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 2:50 pm
Posts: 33
Location: Wisconsin, USA
I do not seem able to navigate to anywhere on this site other then the forums and the main page. For instance, when I tried to go to the article regarding the 33 essentials for new PCs, I received the following:

Interenet Explorer cannot open the Internet Site http://www.maximumpc.com/article/featur ... _utilities. Operation aborted.

This happens with literally every webpage associated with this site except the main page and the forums. Any ideas as to why/how to fix?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 11:03 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 7:51 pm
Posts: 452
Location: HOCKEYTOWN
Where did you find the link? The link in your post has the period attached. If you remove the period, it works.

http://www.maximumpc.com/article/featur ... _utilities

I've been using their site for a while, and I can confirm, in my personal experience, that "literally every webpage" link is not broken.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:47 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 2:50 pm
Posts: 33
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Adding the period was my bad... i tried your link, and wouldn't you know it, same problem... curious as this is the only site i'm having problems with... tried MSN, twcenter.net, newegg, and several commercial insurance websites and they all worked just fine.

I take that back, I now cannot access twcenter at all... get hte HTTP 500 Internal Server error from them...hmmm.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:22 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 958
have you tried a different browser (if u have another one installed)? or is it only Internet Explorer?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 8:08 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 2:50 pm
Posts: 33
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Only have IE, but have found a bunch of updates that, for some, reason, it was not notifying me of... will install and see if this helps. Will also make use AVG and Spybot are completely up-to-date.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 8:49 am 
Million Club 2+ [PC]*
Million Club 2+ [PC]*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:55 pm
Posts: 7844
Using Opera, IE8, Chrome and FF3.5, every link I've clicked on over the last few hours has worked just fine. I moderate the comments sections in all the articles, so I heavily explore everything each day.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 8:50 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 2:50 pm
Posts: 33
Location: Wisconsin, USA
OK, done... done... & done. Still no love :(


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 8:54 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 958
do you have security settings too high? and the other updates to IE still prevent access?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 11:19 am 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 15220
Install firefox.
Link works great for me.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group