Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 8:07 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Does 512mb cut the mustard???
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 11:41 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 9:52 am
Posts: 69
I was wondering, besides for games like Far Cry, is 1Gb of RAM really worth it? And if I get 512mb, should I go for 2 x 256mb sticks or 1 x 512mb sticks so I can upgrade later on?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does 512mb cut the mustard???
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 11:54 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 1:48 pm
Posts: 241
Location: Whispering Evil Things in your ear...
31337_$n1p3r wrote:
I was wondering, besides for games like Far Cry, is 1Gb of RAM really worth it? And if I get 512mb, should I go for 2 x 256mb sticks or 1 x 512mb sticks so I can upgrade later on?


512MB is more than adaquate for desktop use, but Far Cry and UT2004 stutter.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does 512mb cut the mustard???
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 12:05 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9601
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
31337_$n1p3r wrote:
I was wondering, besides for games like Far Cry, is 1Gb of RAM really worth it? And if I get 512mb, should I go for 2 x 256mb sticks or 1 x 512mb sticks so I can upgrade later on?


512mb is fine, despite the few games that can make use of more. You'll hear a lot about upcoming games and specs, and there's certainly nothing wrong with having a 1g of RAM, but it's nothing to stress over.

As for 1x512mb vs 2x256, unless doing heavy overclocking, I would get 2x256. On a P4 setup with four slots, you could always drop in another 2x256 for 1g of dual channel if you felt the need. On an nForce2 mobo with three slots, you could drop in another single 512mb stick and still be running 1g dual channel (one of the neat aspects of the nForce2 mobos).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does 512mb cut the mustard???
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 12:15 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 568
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
One4yu2c wrote:
As for 1x512mb vs 2x256, unless doing heavy overclocking, I would get 2x256. On a P4 setup with four slots, you could always drop in another 2x256 for 1g of dual channel if you felt the need. On an nForce2 mobo with three slots, you could drop in another single 512mb stick and still be running 1g dual channel (one of the neat aspects of the nForce2 mobos).


I was under the impression that the nForce 2 can only do dual-channel if you use two DIMMs on a 3 slot mobo.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does 512mb cut the mustard???
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 12:17 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9601
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
deject wrote:
I was under the impression that the nForce 2 can only do dual-channel if you use two DIMMs on a 3 slot mobo.


That was true of the nForce1. On nForce2, two slots act as a single memory bank, while the third acts as another memory bank. So you could have 2x256mb in slots 1 and 2, and in slot 3 you'd need a 512mb stick, so each bank has 512mb.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does 512mb cut the mustard???
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 12:30 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 568
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
One4yu2c wrote:
deject wrote:
I was under the impression that the nForce 2 can only do dual-channel if you use two DIMMs on a 3 slot mobo.


That was true of the nForce1. On nForce2, two slots act as a single memory bank, while the third acts as another memory bank. So you could have 2x256mb in slots 1 and 2, and in slot 3 you'd need a 512mb stick, so each bank has 512mb.


I never knew that! So would the two slots right next to each other be the one bank and the seperate one be the other back, or is it the other way around?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does 512mb cut the mustard???
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 12:33 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9601
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
deject wrote:
I never knew that! So would the two slots right next to each other be the one bank and the seperate one be the other back, or is it the other way around?


IIRC, that's how it was on my previous A7N8X rig, and that's how it is on a Chaintech 7NIF2 rig I'm currently building. I imagine it will depend on the manufacturer though, a quick peak at any of their online manuals will tell you.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does 512mb cut the mustard???
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 12:34 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24322
Location: South of heaven
31337_$n1p3r wrote:
I was wondering, besides for games like Far Cry, is 1Gb of RAM really worth it? And if I get 512mb, should I go for 2 x 256mb sticks or 1 x 512mb sticks so I can upgrade later on?


Well, do you mainly play games with the PC? While there's so much more to computing than *gasp* games...I'd still run a Gig. Why not? Someday you may decide to take up memory intensive hobbies and you'll be set.

On a side note...I'd really suggest looking at memory specs and learning about them while you can. It's, well, pretty exciting to learn all this neat stuff. Last night I sat up reading Abit and OCZ forums until 4am, and I still feel I need to go back in there to get a better grasp.

Something I learned from doing so: Due to Athlon64's onboard controller and the many/frequent revisions they do to it, it's too hard to recommend a specific type of RAM for them. One guy could do great with a PC3500, while another may not see benifits until with PC4000.

I also saw the point why I need to stop recommending fast ram on AMD's like I use on a P4 build. The Intel's are speed dependant and do well on items like PC4200-PC4800, while AMD's should really look for PC3500-3700 Enhanced Bandwidth RAM...and that makes perfect sense to me. I have no idea why I never concidered those aspects!

And then there's the side of what's usable and what's not. Like getting PC4800 memory would only be worth while on a P4 2.4C as these are the only CPU to use a 300FSB repeatidly. Any other CPU wouldn't fair as well and may be better off with something like PC4600.

Anyway, see what I'm getting at? There's a lot to learn and understand! Capacity would be the most MINOR thing I looked at. Then you get into timmings...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does 512mb cut the mustard???
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 12:36 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 568
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
One4yu2c wrote:
IIRC, that's how it was on my previous A7N8X rig, and that's how it is on a Chaintech 7NIF2 rig I'm currently building. I imagine it will depend on the manufacturer though, a quick peak at any of their online manuals will tell you.



OK, thanks man. I'll need to remember that. That helps me out actually...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:33 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 9:52 am
Posts: 69
Cool...I these things are new to me. I know plenty about computers and building, but never knew those specific details! Thanks! :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does 512mb cut the mustard???
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 2:11 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
31337_$n1p3r wrote:
I was wondering, besides for games like Far Cry, is 1Gb of RAM really worth it? And if I get 512mb, should I go for 2 x 256mb sticks or 1 x 512mb sticks so I can upgrade later on?


for a gamer? NO.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does 512mb cut the mustard???
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 2:15 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
Chumly wrote:
I also saw the point why I need to stop recommending fast ram on AMD's like I use on a P4 build. The Intel's are speed dependant and do well on items like PC4200-PC4800, while AMD's should really look for PC3500-3700 Enhanced Bandwidth RAM...and that makes perfect sense to me. I have no idea why I never concidered those aspects!


i'm not quite understanding this, are you talking about overclocking? isn't it best to run the FSB and memory at the same speed, which would make PC3200 the best match.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Does 512mb cut the mustard???
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:14 pm 
Max [Ph]otographer
Max [Ph]otographer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 5200
cigar3tte wrote:
Chumly wrote:
I also saw the point why I need to stop recommending fast ram on AMD's like I use on a P4 build. The Intel's are speed dependant and do well on items like PC4200-PC4800, while AMD's should really look for PC3500-3700 Enhanced Bandwidth RAM...and that makes perfect sense to me. I have no idea why I never concidered those aspects!


i'm not quite understanding this, are you talking about overclocking? isn't it best to run the FSB and memory at the same speed, which would make PC3200 the best match.


DDR = Double Data Rate. That means that the ram will run at Double the speed of the bus, not equal to.

There is a lot of confusion of this, mainly because CPU manufacturs give bus speeds as memory speeds. My AMD Barton is listed with a 333mhz fsb. In reality, it has a 166fsb, which I had to overclock to 200mhz fsb to get full use of my DDR 400 ram.

Get it?

Dan O.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group