Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Nov 28, 2014 9:19 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: What types of RAM can I use for AthlonXP 1800+?
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 8:42 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 983
What types of RAM can I use for AthlonXP 1800+ on an ABIT AN7 motherboard?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 9:00 am 
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:42 am
Posts: 2262
Location: Michigan
Alot of info can come from the mfr website...

http://www.abit-usa.com/products/mb/pro ... &model=158

Stick some 3200 in there and youll be just fine, with plenty of room for future upgrades.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 9:09 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 983
I currently have 1GB registered PC2100 DDR SDRAM which doesn't work for the mobo. How much better is PC3200 RAM?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 9:14 am 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
TsunamiZ wrote:
I currently have 1GB registered PC2100 DDR SDRAM which doesn't work for the mobo. How much better is PC3200 RAM?


Much better, considering it's compatible and will work. The PC3200 will clock down to PC2100 speeds to match your proc, but you'd be all set to drop a Barton proc in there down the line (as well as OCing headroom should you ever venture down that road). The AN7 is a nice nForce2 mobo, I wouldn't be so quick to replace it as you've been asking in other threads.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 9:19 am 
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:42 am
Posts: 2262
Location: Michigan
I agree with One4yu2c.

Very nice board and the RAM allows for future upgrades. Its a shame you have that extra RAM though, im sure you could find someone in here to help you get rid of it. You might could wander over to the appraisal section and see what its worth.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:01 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 983
I'm thinking about going to Fry's later today to pick up 2x 512MB PC3200 DDR SDRAMs. Any brand of RAM you guys recommend at Fry's? Unfortunately, I don't have the time to wait for an online order. :(


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:09 am 
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:42 am
Posts: 2262
Location: Michigan
Ive stuck with Crucial for the longest time, and just recently started using Mushkin. Both have worked great for me. Kingston's valuram is something else ive tried for budget PCs and it seems to work ok too.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:12 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
im not sure what brands Fry's sells cuz they dont have them around here, but i suggest 1 of these: GEIL, Mushkin, Corsair, Crucial, or Kingston. But make sure u check the latency, it should be 2.5 or lower.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:13 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 983
Do Fry's sell Crucial RAM?

Or what brands of RAM does Fry's sell?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:14 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 983
XHAOS wrote:
im not sure what brands Fry's sells cuz they dont have them around here, but i suggest 1 of these: GEIL, Mushkin, Corsair, Crucial, or Kingston. But make sure u check the latency, it should be 2.5 or lower.


I'm thinking about getting PC3200. Any specs for that I should be aware of? Or I might get PC2700.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:28 am 
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:42 am
Posts: 2262
Location: Michigan
3200 and 2700 are usually around the same price, sometimes the 3200 is cheaper. Its best to get the 3200 that way you have the headroom for overclocking or future upgrades.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:39 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
I'd suggest Crucial, Corsair, Kingston, Mushkin, Fry's should have Kingston or corsair for sure. Maybe crucial.

I'd get PC-3200...its usually about the same or cheaper.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 3:18 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
SomeGuy wrote:
I'd suggest Crucial, Corsair, Kingston, Mushkin, Fry's should have Kingston or corsair for sure. Maybe crucial.

I'd get PC-3200...its usually about the same or cheaper.


I second the above. And I poo-poo the Geil recommendation a few posts above. I'm not a big Geil fan, and there's certainly more consistently reliable brands to choose from. I may get blasted for that, but oh well, I already poo-pood.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 4:10 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
One4yu2c wrote:
SomeGuy wrote:
I'd suggest Crucial, Corsair, Kingston, Mushkin, Fry's should have Kingston or corsair for sure. Maybe crucial.

I'd get PC-3200...its usually about the same or cheaper.


I second the above. And I poo-poo the Geil recommendation a few posts above. I'm not a big Geil fan, and there's certainly more consistently reliable brands to choose from. I may get blasted for that, but oh well, I already poo-pood.


Agreed on the geil thing :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 6:43 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 983
I just went out and bought two Corsair ValueSelect PC3200 DDR 512MB 400MHz 184 Pin RAM. Is cost me $210 at Fry's. Did I get a good deal?


Last edited by TsunamiZ on Mon Jul 12, 2004 3:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 6:56 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
TsunamiZ wrote:
I just went out and bought two Corsair ValueSelect PC3200 DDR 512MB 400MHz 184 Pin RAM. Is cost me $110 at Fry's. Did I get a good deal?


If that's $110 total for 1g, then yes, you got a smoking deal. The same stuff would run you $80/512mb on Newegg ($160 total).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 7:46 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
yeah pretty good deal.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 3:36 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 983
One4yu2c wrote:
TsunamiZ wrote:
I just went out and bought two Corsair ValueSelect PC3200 DDR 512MB 400MHz 184 Pin RAM. Is cost me $110 at Fry's. Did I get a good deal?


If that's $110 total for 1g, then yes, you got a smoking deal. The same stuff would run you $80/512mb on Newegg ($160 total).


Whoops--typo! I meant I got it for $210. Is that a good deal for the type and amount of ram?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 4:19 am 
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:42 am
Posts: 2262
Location: Michigan
TsunamiZ wrote:
Whoops--typo! I meant I got it for $210. Is that a good deal for the type and amount of ram?


That sounds reasonable. You could have gotten 2 sticks of Crucial for $160 including shipping from newegg, but i remember you saying you needed them right now. Sounds good too me, but if it was me i would have ordered online and saved $50. Good luck with it, youll really like the boost it gives.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 5:12 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 983
ricksickle wrote:
TsunamiZ wrote:
Whoops--typo! I meant I got it for $210. Is that a good deal for the type and amount of ram?


That sounds reasonable. You could have gotten 2 sticks of Crucial for $160 including shipping from newegg, but i remember you saying you needed them right now. Sounds good too me, but if it was me i would have ordered online and saved $50. Good luck with it, youll really like the boost it gives.


I was told that my RAM is currently limited to PC2100 speed, until I get AthlonXP 3200+ CPU to make use of the PC3200 RAM speed. I might do that in the future.

BTW: Can I really get the exact same memory for $50 less at newegg.com? Maybe I should order it, when it arrives--install it, then return my Fry's $210 set. Will they let me return the RAM?


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.