Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:47 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: AthlonXP mobo that supports 1GB Registered PC2100 DDR SDRAM?
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 8:30 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 977
Is there a current AthlonXP motherboard I can buy that supports 1GB Registered PC2100 DDR SDRAM? I have an AthlonXP 1800+ CPU.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 8:34 am 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
what is the brand name and model number for your mobo?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 8:38 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 977
ABIT AN7 motherboard.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 9:08 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:22 am
Posts: 4
Dude Asus A7n8x-e deluxe and get a new processor while your at it


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AthlonXP mobo that supports 1GB Registered PC2100 DDR SD
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 9:20 am 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
TsunamiZ wrote:
Is there a current AthlonXP motherboard I can buy that supports 1GB Registered PC2100 DDR SDRAM? I have an AthlonXP 1800+ CPU.


I wish we could condense all these threads on basically the same subject (I think we're up to 3 now). My vote goes to replace the RAM with PC3200 sticks. As mentioned in another thread, you already have a nice mobo and you'll also have upgradeability should you decide to pop a Barton in there down the line.

From what I'm gathering of these posts, I can't imagine you need the benefits registered RAM provides.

As for the proc that Sumthing546 said to replace, depending on what you do and how your system is handling things, it still has life left in it. Ideally, a Barton proc would be a utopian match for your mobo, but it's all relative.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:05 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 977
Sumthing546 wrote:
Dude Asus A7n8x-e deluxe and get a new processor while your at it


I don't think the Asus A7n8x-e deluxe supports registered RAM. :?:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AthlonXP mobo that supports 1GB Registered PC2100 DDR SD
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:08 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 977
What is a Barton proc?

BTW: What's the difference between registered and unbuffered ram? Why is there two types?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AthlonXP mobo that supports 1GB Registered PC2100 DDR SD
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 11:43 am 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
TsunamiZ wrote:
What is a Barton proc?

BTW: What's the difference between registered and unbuffered ram? Why is there two types?


its a type of CPU core. there are many flavors: thunderbird, barton
it just specifies the amount of L2 cache and the like. you can do research, but barton is your best bet i think.

registered and unregistered: one has error corrections. it goes slower but is more accurate. that is my little understanding of it


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:36 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
The A7N8X does NOT support registered RAM.

As we have said in your other thread, no single proc mobo that I know of for the XP supports registered RAM.

Sell it or trade it in for unbuffered/unregistered.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AthlonXP mobo that supports 1GB Registered PC2100 DDR SD
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 3:42 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 977
What are the clock speeds of Barton?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AthlonXP mobo that supports 1GB Registered PC2100 DDR SD
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 4:01 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
TsunamiZ wrote:
What are the clock speeds of Barton?


Barton 2500+ 333fsb 1.833GHz
Barton 2600+ 333fsb 1.917GHz
Barton 2800+ 333fsb 2.083GHz
Barton 3000+ 333fsb 2.167GHz
Barton 3000+ 400fsb 2.100GHz
Barton 3200+ 400fsb 2.200GHz

--Mobile Bartons--
Barton 2000+ 266fsb 1.533GHz
Barton 2200+ 266fsb 1.667GHz
Barton 2400+ 266fsb 1.800GHz
Barton 2500+ 266fsb 1.830GHz
Barton 2600+ 266fsb 2.000GHz
Barton 3000+ 266fsb 2.200GHz


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group