Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:02 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 400 FSB support yes or no?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 2:59 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 4:45 pm
Posts: 6
I was wondering if my soyo KT400 Dragon ultra will support the XP 3200 barton cpu. The Bios has the option to set the fsb to 200 mhz and the motherboard supports pc3200 ddr ram. However soyo's site claims that the max cpu fsb is 166 mhz.

Does anyone know which is correct, the bios or soyo?
Also does anyone have an xp 3200 runnng on the kt-400 chipset?

IF my motherboard won't accept the 3200 cpu then I'll just drop in an xp 3000 333 fsb, another 512mb of pc2700 ram, and a new Radeon x800 pro or Geforce 6800 and call it a day.

So hopefully the faster cpu, 1 gig of ram, and insanely fast graphics card will allow me 60 fps (Minimum) in all game types in UT 2004 with all game settings and graphic settings maxed out, and still have power to spare to run Half life 2 with decent fps (30 min) and image quality.

I don't really want to scrap my motherboard as I've had it for quite a while, but I will if I have to.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 3:03 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:33 pm
Posts: 1294
Location: Georgia Tech
If I were you, I'd go with the bios rather than the manual (if that's what you're reading from soyo.

Where's the documentation of this? Care to send it?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 3:43 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 4:45 pm
Posts: 6
Soyo's site lists the max fsb as 166, the documentation says that the motherbard supports 200/266 athlon xp's under cpu support
then under cpu fsb frequency the book lists 100 - 255 mhz for 100 and 133 fsb cpu's


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 4:05 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
According to their knowledgebase, it will NOT accept 400fsb Bartons:

http://www.soyousa.com/kb/kbdesc.php?id=128

Gives you an excuse to pop for an A7N8X-E or NF7-S though :lol:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 4:16 pm 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
try going with the bios since the bios is what controls all that stuff.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 4:29 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:33 pm
Posts: 1294
Location: Georgia Tech
Unforgiven wrote:
Soyo's site lists the max fsb as 166, the documentation says that the motherbard supports 200/266 athlon xp's under cpu support
then under cpu fsb frequency the book lists 100 - 255 mhz for 100 and 133 fsb cpu's


I'll bet it's an unofficial support. It doesn't seem that it can't handle it, or shouldn't for any reason.

The DFI with the same chipset can handle it, but it is -- again -- unofficial.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 4:32 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 3:40 pm
Posts: 43
keymaker wrote:
try going with the bios since the bios is what controls all that stuff.

What he said


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 4:43 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
please tell me what happens with this, i have the same board and am looking to upgrade my CPU ...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 8:41 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 568
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
like ShiftyEyedGoat said, it's unoffical support, because not every board will work with a 400MHz FSB. It's hit and miss.


It's kind of like how my ECS K7S5A Pro says it can set my RAM to PC133 (which mine is) but never works properly when I try it. It takes about 3 reboots just to be able to get back into the BIOS...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:56 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:22 am
Posts: 4
Dude why not get a Nforce 2 mobo I've heard a few stability complaints with the dragon boards and also it doesn't lock your pci and agp slots if you wanna overclock


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 1:31 am 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
serialtoon wrote:
keymaker wrote:
try going with the bios since the bios is what controls all that stuff.

What he said


you guys are just so damned helpful...


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group