Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:50 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: BIOS upgrade killed my mobo?!?
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:12 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 974
http://www.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard/Fi ... a_bios.htm

I was upgrading the BIOS for my GA-7DX mobo tonight using @BIOS utility. I was upgrading from version F5 to F8. Everything went fine, but upon reboot, my system power light blinks constantly and the pc speaker keeps beeping! My system won't boot up anymore! I did use the right BIOS upgrade for my mobo. This shouldn't have happened because I made sure everything was correct!

So is my mobo dead now? If I need to buy a mobo tomorrow to replace my GA-7DX, what mobo model should I buy? And upon replacing my mobo, I should be able to get my system back up and working w/o a reformat, right??

My computer system specs are:

GA-7DX motherboard (may have died from BIOS upgrade)
AthlonXP 1800+
1 GB (2x512) PC2100 DDR SDRAM
GeForce3 Ti-500
60 GB Seagate Barracuda HD
Intel network card
350W Enermax Whisper power supply
WinXP Home

I might need to buy a new mobo ASAP, if there is no way to fix my mobo. So I need some really good recommendations. Thanks!

Link to initial upgrade thread before my mobo died: http://www.maximumpc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=622


Last edited by TsunamiZ on Sat Jul 10, 2004 3:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:32 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
i posted about this in the last topic u posted this in, but did u reboot or did it lock up during the Flashing process? that will kill ur motherboard, but it is fixable, just not by u unless you have a removable BIOS chip, and you will have to order a new 1 from the company.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:38 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 974
The flashing went fine. It even said I can reboot the computer for the new BIOS to take effect. It just when I attempted to reboot that it wont reboot. :\

Any recommendations for a new mobo based on my system specs? I don't have time to wait on an order (even if my BIOS chip is removable--which I don't know yet). Might just go to Fry's for a new mobo.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:41 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
all i can tell ya is the 1 i have which should work fine with all those components. it's a SOYO KT400 Dragon Ultra.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 11:11 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 974
My AthlonXP 1800+ CPU is from late 2001. Does that matter?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 11:12 pm 
Astro lube 2 the MAX!
Astro lube 2 the MAX!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 762
Location: Newton, KS
TsunamiZ wrote:
The flashing went fine. It even said I can reboot the computer for the new BIOS to take effect. It just when I attempted to reboot that it wont reboot. :\

Any recommendations for a new mobo based on my system specs? I don't have time to wait on an order (even if my BIOS chip is removable--which I don't know yet). Might just go to Fry's for a new mobo.


Well if it went fine, try clearing your CMOS. If that doesn't work, maybe take out battery for a good while then try.

If you want to upgrade to a new mobo, I would suggest:

Abit NF7-S
or
Asus A7n8x-E

Both are cheap. 80-90 dollar range. SATA-RAID, Soundstorm, LAN, etc.

Or not sure if they are released or not, the Nforce2-GB boards. Not sure on the model if I quote correctly, but supose to have onboard hardware firewall, gigabyte lan incorporated.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 11:19 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
yeah, i would go with his suggestions over mine, they have more options.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 11:48 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 974
XHAOS wrote:
yeah, i would go with his suggestions over mine, they have more options.


wiseoracle's mobos? Or the CMOS idea?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 11:50 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
try the CMOS idea, if it dont work, go with his mobos


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 12:55 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 974
After I jumped the CMOS, the computer won't reboot until I jumped it back to the defaults. Did I clear my CMOS?

I'm trying the take out battery method now.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 3:08 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 974
Looks like I'll have to buy a new mobo. :(

Do I need to buy anything else when I buy my new mobo? Do I need to buy a CMOS battery for it, etc.? Or does it come with everthing I need? Thanks.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 3:14 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 974
Abit NF7-S
or
Asus A7n8x-E

I have 2x512 PC2100 DDR SDRAM. Will that work with those mobos?


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group