Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 1:35 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Upgrading video card??
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:26 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 983
I want to buy this video card ($199.00) but don't know if my system supports it:

Quote:
SAPPHIRE ATI RADEON 9800 PRO Video Card, 128MB DDR, 256-bit, DVI/TV-Out, 8X AGP -BULK -OEM

Model# RADEON 9800PRO 128M
Item # N82E16814102268

Specifications:
Chipset/Core Speed: ATI RADEON 9800 PRO/380MHz
Memory/Effective Speed: 128MB DDR/680MHz
BUS: AGP 8X
Ports: VGA Out(15 Pin D-Sub)+TV-Out(S-Video Out)+DVI Connector
Support 3D API: DirectX®9, OpenGL®2.0
Cable/Accessories: 4 Cables, VGA via DVI Adapter, PowerDVD, Driver CD
Max Resolution@32bit Color: 2048X1536@85Hz


My system specs are:

GA-7DX motherboard
AthlonXP 1800+
Enermax Whisper 350W power supply
WinXP Home
GeForce3 Ti-500 (currently)


What is the best video card I can install on my system? Thanks.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:59 pm 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
hmmmmmmm i didnt know what chipset your mobo was so i went to the gigabyte website and checked your mobo out. the only model closest to your mobo model number that i found was GA-7DXE which is an AMD 761 chipset. im assuming the chipset for your mobo is an amd 761 also. man this was one of the best chipsets back in the days.

anywayz, i dont know if your mobo supports the videocard you are buying. to me you might have some conflicts such as voltage settings and if the mobo can handle the voltage of the videocard or not. i could be wrong and hopefully someone shed the light to you.

just buy it and test it out and see if it works. also i heard issues with newer videocards can result with instability issues when put in an older mobo that doesnt support 8x.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 8:07 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
You have an AGP 2.0 compliant slot. It should work just fine.

FYI, here's the spec page for your mobo:
http://www.gigabyte.de/MotherBoard/Prod ... GA-7DX.htm


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 8:47 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 8:45 pm
Posts: 47
Location: So. Cal.
Should work fine as long as you don't have a lot of power hungry parts currently hooked up. If you have the average amount, (1-2 optical drives, 1 hard drive, 1-2 pci cards, 2-3 fans) your enermax 350w psu should be able to handle it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:01 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 983
keymaker wrote:
hmmmmmmm i didnt know what chipset your mobo was so i went to the gigabyte website and checked your mobo out. the only model closest to your mobo model number that i found was GA-7DXE which is an AMD 761 chipset. im assuming the chipset for your mobo is an amd 761 also. man this was one of the best chipsets back in the days.

anywayz, i dont know if your mobo supports the videocard you are buying. to me you might have some conflicts such as voltage settings and if the mobo can handle the voltage of the videocard or not. i could be wrong and hopefully someone shed the light to you.

just buy it and test it out and see if it works. also i heard issues with newer videocards can result with instability issues when put in an older mobo that doesnt support 8x.


Actually, I believe my mobo model is GA-7DX--not GA-7DXE.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:17 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24345
Location: South of heaven
Whoe...slow down. Oh wait. Scared me. All I saw was 4x sidebanding on this board which usually means new cards won't go in because of the higher voltages...then I saw the link One4yu2c posted up.

Ya, you'r board is keyed for a 1.5v AGP and the card will go in and fire up. But you only have 4x sidebanding. While some say you really don't use anything above the 4x's bandwidth, I'm still skeptical. I have a Gigabyte 8IHXP that only has 4x and I would say it's holding things back. The same card scores better in 3Dmark in another Intel branded 8x board

But, for $200 you really can do no wrong. If it won't work and you keep the smoke in it, I get dibs!


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.