Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 5:32 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Onboard RAID
PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 10:14 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 10:00 pm
Posts: 99
Location: The stars at night are big and bright...
How long does it take for the different RAID controllers to scan the hard drives?

The Promise controller on my Gigabyte 8INXP seems to take forever, but the High Point 374 on my Epox 4PCA3+ only takes a few seconds.

I'm thinking about replacing the 8INXP with an 865 or 875 board. Getting tired of waiting for it to boot. I'm leaning towards another Epox or a DFI Infinity because they use High Point.

Any one have experience with any other RAID controllers?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 12:08 am 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 7:30 pm
Posts: 1691
Location: Houston Texas
the raid 0 on my asus p4p 800 is via (ide)and it boots fast as hell, maybe 2-3 seconds on the raid screen.

But yes, my FIC board had a promise raid controller on it, and it took a lot longer.

Um can utell me if promise cards take that long?

Anyways promise's raid doesnt nearly take as long as SCSI does. My dual channel scsi mobo has to scan through for 30 hdds (15 for each channel) b4 it will finish its screen.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:43 am 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24345
Location: South of heaven
I have a Gigabyte 8IHXP and it takes a while too. May be the brand:p

It's up for appraisal if anyone cares to look in that folder;)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:54 am 
INFINITE vCORE
INFINITE vCORE
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 6:16 am
Posts: 467
Location: Middletown, DE
I've noticed that my onboard sATA controller takes longer to do the drive detection in RAID mode...

As for the boot delay I'm running the onboard sATA with two drives in RAID, an ATA66 controller, plus two SCSI cards :)

Can you say delay?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 4:07 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
i could try out my onboard RAID if i had another drive to put there ... anybody wanna donate 1?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 9:48 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
Azn wrote:
Anyways promise's raid doesnt nearly take as long as SCSI does. My dual channel scsi mobo has to scan through for 30 hdds (15 for each channel) b4 it will finish its screen.


Thats a little misleading.

SCSI doesnt take forever to scan them. The fact that you have 30 HDDs on there is what makes it slow (as you know). Just because YOUR SCSI setup takes a long time to scan, doesnt mean ALL SCSI setups take forever.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 10:33 am 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 7:30 pm
Posts: 1691
Location: Houston Texas
no there isnt 30 drives on it.

what it does is it scans from # 1-15 for each channel.

I have that and an adaptec 29160 and that takes a while too

well forever for me is 15 secs added. some people can be okie with that, i cant :(


Last edited by Azn on Tue Jul 06, 2004 12:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 11:14 am 
Astro lube 2 the MAX!
Astro lube 2 the MAX!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 762
Location: Newton, KS
takes only a couple seconds for me. and i have 2 controllers. promise and the silicon sata. 2-3 seconds and straight to XP screen.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:01 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 10:00 pm
Posts: 99
Location: The stars at night are big and bright...
wiseoracle wrote:
takes only a couple seconds for me. and i have 2 controllers. promise and the silicon sata. 2-3 seconds and straight to XP screen.


What mobo you got?


Does any one have a Giga RAID controller? I think it's proprietary to Gigabyte boards.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 12:58 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
Azn wrote:
no there isnt 30 drives on it.

what it does is it scans from # 1-15 for each channel.

I have that and an adaptec 29160 and that takes a while too

well forever for me is 15 secs added. some people can be okie with that, i cant :(


Have you checked the SCSI BIOS to see if there is a way to tell it to skip unused channels or something like that?


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.