Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:06 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 2 video cards
PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 3:53 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 5:07 pm
Posts: 147
Location: AZ
Ok so whats the prurpose of having two video cards ?? will I even noticce a difference???? for games is all I need are video card and ramm>>>??

also dual processors?? what does that do??

Thanks


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 5:29 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 12:47 pm
Posts: 1948
Two video cards will dramtically boost frame rates in the game. (This determines how fast the game is going. The higher frame rates the better)
Dual Cores used to be useless, but (for AMD, I dont know about Intel) they have released a download to optimise both cores.
Dual Cores are two processessors in one, and since theres a new driver out (what I was talking about) With a dual core, the game will have some bumps to the framerates per second as well.
So now, both are good to have (if you have a lot o' cash) and I'd get em.
However, be careful about reaserching the graphics card(s) you want.
an ATI x1900xt beats two 7900GTs at Oblivion, but two 7900GTs SLI beat em at Quake 4 (I think). Its all about the games you want to play and the graphic quality your interested in.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 5:55 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:11 am
Posts: 5108
Location: RFC 1149 - Pidgeon Network
You have your game - stuff runs on the cpu - ai, physics, math, some collisions etc. it calculates a scene and passed it to the card(s).

If you have 2 cards, then you double up on bandwidth and pixel processor power, with the limitation that the power is combined at a higher level than the most optimal - i.e. in the chip. If you're pushing extremely hogh resolutions, then the doubling of fillrate and bandwidth can nearly double the frame rate.

Lets say your game wasnt desiged for dual core (in other words, it's not multithreaded - think of a thread of a series of instructions to be computed for the game). If a game is multithreaded - say the AI and physics run in threads seperate from the rest, then the AI thread can occupy the attention of one cpu core, the physics another, and the rest of the game on another core, distributing the processong power accross multiple cores.

For games that run one thread, the game puts it all on one cpu core. in a dual core or multi processor machine the other cores have nothing to do, and arn't beneficial. In a game like quake 4 which does support multiple processors, you can get a performance boost using dual core.

The thing is that most processors arn't saturated enough to as yet necessitate dual cores for gaming. The videocard and ram should be top priority. Even an awesomely powerful card like teh x1900xt appears to skip frames with 1GB of ram playing battle field 2. The reason is because all the data can't be held in ram, so it constantly swaps data to and from the harddrive - the slowest component in your system. With 2GB, it was smooth sailing.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:15 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 12:47 pm
Posts: 1948
yep.
2 GB DDR2-800. Will handle it like a breeze.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 10:41 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:45 am
Posts: 581
Any Dual Core (AMD&Intel) CPU's do nothing for frames when at, or over 1280x1024. The only time it helps is in very low resolutions, that hardly anyone would be playing with, with such a CPU.

It does increase your 3Dmark06' score.. which is another reason that benchmark it useless.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 10:49 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 12:47 pm
Posts: 1948
But now, Dual Cores from AMD have support tha blend them into one core so there should be some performance increase.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 3:44 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:45 am
Posts: 581
Yet there isnt. The recent driver hasnt done anything that many power users have not been doing for some time already, adding /usepmtimer line to your boot.ini.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group