Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Nov 22, 2014 7:43 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: What should i do with $105?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 2:21 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
i am thinking of either getting another 512mb stick of ram so i can run in dual channel. i am also thinking of grabbing another 160gb maxtor drive so i can run in raid and have 320gb of storge. which would be better?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What should i do with $105?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:34 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 2496
Location: Wizzing into the abyss
athlon11 wrote:
i am thinking of either getting another 512mb stick of ram so i can run in dual channel. i am also thinking of grabbing another 160gb maxtor drive so i can run in raid and have 320gb of storge. which would be better?



the ram would probably be best for now :)
more ram=less swapfile usage...wOOt!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:40 pm 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
definitely ram is the way to go. or you can always give it to me. lolool just kidding.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 4:20 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
i found a stick identical to what i have now for $70 after rebates from officemax. the funny thing is i got my other ram about a year ago for $50 after rebates


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 4:32 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:44 am
Posts: 2496
Location: Wizzing into the abyss
athlon11 wrote:
the funny thing is i got my other ram about a year ago for $50 after rebates



I feel your pain... :cry:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 4:37 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
yea, i hate how volatile ram prices can be, but at least theyre coming down some, a month or 2 ago the same stick was never under 90 after rebates even


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:41 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:09 pm
Posts: 189
Location: Flower Mound tx
Quote:
i am thinking of either getting another 512mb stick of ram so i can run in dual channel

check your motherboards manual because i do believe that for dual channel both sticks of memory have to be the same i know when i bought mine the place i got it from noted that to me at the time i had 512 but desided to get the extra 512 while i was there


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:25 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
go with RAM


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 7:08 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
well, i got the ram today and its a lot different than the old dimm i have. the memory chips are bga instead of tsop and the chips are made by kingston them selves instead og wionbond. i am wondering if this new ram will work for dual channel?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 7:12 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:14 pm
Posts: 2108
Location: I'm Not sure
you can send it to the "toidiochysp needs a better video card fund"

my radeon 9000 cant handle it anymore :(


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 7:13 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
sorry, i already bought the ram, and im gonna buy a couple of cds with my left over money.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 6:27 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
well, the new ram works great. it also works at 192mhz just like the old ram i had so i can oc up to 2209mhz, im happy, except i broke my damn mobo.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: what should u do with the dough...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 6:40 pm 
BANNED
BANNED
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 6:32 pm
Posts: 11
Location: timbucktoo
Go call an escort service..and ask them what u can get for a hundred buck. Buy memory later


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.