Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Aug 31, 2014 2:02 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Picky Computer
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 9:07 am 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 2:07 am
Posts: 374
Location: Colorado
alright i am remaking my dads old computer and putting windows xp onto it as a fresh install. It gets to "starting windows" and then freezes. Ok so i install windows 98 and try to upgrade it to Windows xp home. Again it freezes and goes to a black screen. Now im think that the harddrive is too old to support windows xp so i go and get a new harddrive. But i still have the same problem. Does anyone know whats wrong?

here are my specs,
1 ghz amd athlon
i think a biostar mobo which is mini atx
geforce 2 64 mb
seagate 20 gb harddrive
sony cd-rw
dvd rom drive
floppy drive.


Any help is appreciated ok thanks.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 9:39 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 11:02 am
Posts: 8
Location: SOCAL
Sounds like it may be a RAM problem. Try using 1 stick of ram if that does not work switch it out for the other and try it again. 8) Have you done any upgrades to the PC besides trying to upgrade the OS?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Picky Computer
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 9:59 am 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:33 pm
Posts: 1294
Location: Georgia Tech
Kbasa wrote:
alright i am remaking my dads old computer and putting windows xp onto it as a fresh install. It gets to "starting windows" and then freezes. Ok so i install windows 98 and try to upgrade it to Windows xp home. Again it freezes and goes to a black screen. Now im think that the harddrive is too old to support windows xp so i go and get a new harddrive. But i still have the same problem. Does anyone know whats wrong?

here are my specs,
1 ghz amd athlon
i think a biostar mobo which is mini atx
geforce 2 64 mb
seagate 20 gb harddrive
sony cd-rw
dvd rom drive
floppy drive.


Any help is appreciated ok thanks.


RAM and power specs?

Doesn't sound like power because you can install 98 ok, but I agree it could be a ram problem.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 10:42 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 12:42 am
Posts: 89
Location: Tampa, FL
definitely (note that it is spelled correctly) sounds like ram or PS., but not gonna be ps due to 98 working as another suggested. I would try replacing once stick at a time and see if this fixes your problem.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 11:21 am 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
my guess would be RAM


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Picky Computer
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 12:12 pm 
I'd rather be modding!
I'd rather be modding!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:47 pm
Posts: 3731
Location: Las Vegas
Kbasa wrote:
alright i am remaking my dads old computer and putting windows xp onto it as a fresh install. It gets to "starting windows" and then freezes. Ok so i install windows 98 and try to upgrade it to Windows xp home. Again it freezes and goes to a black screen. Now im think that the harddrive is too old to support windows xp so i go and get a new harddrive. But i still have the same problem. Does anyone know whats wrong?

here are my specs,
1 ghz amd athlon
i think a biostar mobo which is mini atx
geforce 2 64 mb
seagate 20 gb harddrive
sony cd-rw
dvd rom drive
floppy drive.


Any help is appreciated ok thanks.


Another one asking how much RAM you have :)

Manta


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: f
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 1:34 pm 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 2:07 am
Posts: 374
Location: Colorado
ok, i think it has 786 ram of pc100, ill run ramtest x86 tonight probably when i get home


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 6:28 pm 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
it could definitely be ram. i heard of instability issues with windows 98 computers that have more than 256megs of ram.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 7:12 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
keymaker wrote:
it could definitely be ram. i heard of instability issues with windows 98 computers that have more than 256megs of ram.
his problem isnt with win98, its installing windows xp that he has the problem. i add another vote to the ram as being the culprit, but a bad driver being installed during the install could also be an issue.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: f
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 11:14 pm 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 2:07 am
Posts: 374
Location: Colorado
i even bought a new harddrive because i thought it was that, but ill try the ram tomarrow because im not at my house tonight.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 1:26 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
A computer that a friend is trying to fix for his g/f is hangin up when he tries to install an OS, but we couldnt get any OS to install on it. we tried 95, 98, ME, 2000, and XP Pro and Home, none of them worked, and i was feeling lazy (not getting paid), so i gave up. I'm not sure of the specs of the computer, but i know it really shouldnt be running XP but it was running XP Home before he formatted the HD. But i know it would be able to handle 98 or 2000 just fine, but it wouldnt install either. I think he may have just messed something up. but if y'all have any ideas, i will pass them on.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: f
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 4:45 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:22 pm
Posts: 4154
Location: Tampa FL.
Kbasa wrote:
i even bought a new harddrive because i thought it was that, but ill try the ram tomarrow because im not at my house tonight.


Like everyone keeps driving home, install errors many times are generated by bad ram.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 8:29 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 8:13 am
Posts: 3
It sounds like you may need to update your bios. On older systems like the one you describe alot of times Windows 2000 and now XP would not boot or load properly due to an incompatible versions of bios.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: f
PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 9:44 am 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 2:07 am
Posts: 374
Location: Colorado
Ok heres what happend, i ran memtest x86 and i located the bad ram, then i try to install windows xp on the computer with still no luck. The thing is i dont know what manufacturer my motherboard is made by, is there some kind of utility that analyses your mother board and tells you what model and manufacturer is? So i can update the bios...
Thanks again,
-Hank


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 9:54 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 8:13 am
Posts: 3
Well if it failed the ram test then the ram may be bad. Taking a look inside the case should reveal who makes the board and the model should be listed somewhere. Go to the manufacturers website and find it.

You can also use sisoft to get some more information about it also if this isn't a custom built one check the vendors website for a bios update and also if you need one for your board to work properly with XP. I am not totally convinced it's ram. Software test aren't always accurate and if you had bad ram how come the windows 98 loads and runs fine?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 11:39 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 11:02 am
Posts: 8
Location: SOCAL
JeremyWatts2004 wrote:
Well if it failed the ram test then the ram may be bad. Taking a look inside the case should reveal who makes the board and the model should be listed somewhere. Go to the manufacturers website and find it.

You can also use sisoft to get some more information about it also if this isn't a custom built one check the vendors website for a bios update and also if you need one for your board to work properly with XP. I am not totally convinced it's ram. Software test aren't always accurate and if you had bad ram how come the windows 98 loads and runs fine?


Just a link for download.. http://www.sisoftware.net/index.html?di ... angx=en&a=

If your board is not marked you could try and find the manufacturer by taking note of the FCC number printed on the board. 8)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 1:14 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 8:13 am
Posts: 3
I totally forgot the fcc id identification thanks for the reminder


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group