Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Nov 28, 2014 1:02 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: upgrad Memory
PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 12:16 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 9:07 am
Posts: 10
hi everyone...

for your hardware geeks, I've been out of the game for a bit and need to upgrade my memory.
I currently have an Asus P6T Deluxe mobo running 6GB of OCZ DDR3 1600 ram
I was thinking I could just grab another 6 or 12 GB to add to this in the other 3 slots, but I think if the voltage is off it may cause issues. So what are your thoughts guys? Can I just add to what I have or do I need to replace it. And what's the best option for my mobo? Actual model suggestions are appreciated.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: upgrad Memory
PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 12:20 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5470
As long as the voltage is within the tolerance of the slot, you can mix and match.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: upgrad Memory
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:47 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24345
Location: South of heaven
You can, but I see no reason. You've already dedicated on your own that you need more than 6G of triple channel memory and I wonder why that is that more is desired.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.