Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:00 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Motherboards - Why Limit to 2 Sata3 Ports on Native Chipset?
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 10:45 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:21 am
Posts: 118
Hello;

Why are all motherboards capped at 2 SATA3 ports on the native chipset? I would have expected by now to see 4 ports on like the Intel chipset rather than like 2 on Intel and 2 on Marvell (or 4 on the other controll ASRock uses)

Any idea? (Cost?)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboards - Why Limit to 2 Sata3 Ports on Native Chip
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 4:22 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:45 pm
Posts: 3036
Location: Central Florida
Must be an Intel thing... My Gigabyte A75M-D2H motherboard has 6 SATA III ports, all on the AMD A75 chipset. My guess is that Intel doesn't think you need more than 2, I can't imagine it being cost related, if it were, I would think AMD would be doing the same thing.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboards - Why Limit to 2 Sata3 Ports on Native Chip
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2012 7:20 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5409
Part of me thinks Intel is holding back so that motherboard manufacturers can decide on what they want to add to their motherboards. This way, Intel can sell chipsets that meet the bare minimum customers are asking for to cover a large gamut of markets. Like for instance, capping PCI-Express lanes for graphics to either x16 or x8/x8 because a very small percentage of the population uses more than that, and it's not worth putting the burden of cost on the remaining (ass-pull) 99% who won't use it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboards - Why Limit to 2 Sata3 Ports on Native Chip
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 1:23 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24345
Location: South of heaven
So Intel has to not only be the best CPU, but also hold the S/ATA as a processor duty and get better. Yup, and they know this. Memory controller and PCIe is just not enough.

You know how this stuff works right? Marvell adds onboard additions that vendors choose, and they suck at it. Where's the good pair of S/ATAIII ports go? AMD actually has S/ATA figured out and has 6 pipes into the CPU for full Serial implication? It's not an AMD vs. Intel war at all.

http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?o ... mitstart=3
You can have 16 S/ATA III I guess, but is it Intel not doing it? Intel has two, AMD has none. I can't believe this is a question.

You have so many widgets, so how would YOU spread out the serial bus? Indeed a good question.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.