Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 3:28 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Video card questions.
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:36 am 

Hey I'm looking to understand video cards a little bit better since I'm new to this. The are a few things like the CUDA cores, what part does this play in the card? DDR,3,4,5 and memory.

I've heard and read several different things but if someone could put it into lamens terms for me it would help.

Post subject: Re: Video card questions.
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 12:22 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield

I'm going to narrow down the basics that do matter, hopefully. The rest is just nitpicking.

• Like comparing Intel's processors with AMD's, you cannot compare an NVIDIA GPU to an AMD GPU based on specs alone. In particular, before the GeForce 600 series, NVIDIA has much fewer shaders than AMD, but they got away with it by clocking them at double the speed of the "main" GPU. It might be a little bit more apples to apples with how NVIDIA organized the GeForce 600 series (lots of shaders running at 1:1 speed), but it's still safe to say: you can't compare the two directly.
  • CUDA is a proprietary shader language for NVIDIA GPUs only. This only matters if you're trying to use the GPU as a compute hardware. On a side note, if you care about hardware accelerated PhysX though, you will need an NVIDIA card.
  • RAM type only affects how fast it can operate. There are some smaller features (GDDR3 being based on DDR2 and GDDR4/5 being based on DDR3) but this is basically the crux of it.
  • RAM size today affects mostly how high quality of textures you can hold and I believe how well FSAA features work. But since traditional FSAA is being thrown out the window in favor of shader model based AA techniques, I don't know how much RAM size matters anymore.

Basically... just go find a review with a benchmark. That's about the only way you can understand what the GPU is capable of.