Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Jul 11, 2014 1:39 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Ahhhhhh...the Doom3 benches finally!
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 5:08 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 7:57 pm
Posts: 52
Finally I can make a decision on what video card to buy. Now if I can only get Nvidia to release a sufficient amount of cards.
http://www2.hardocp.com/article.html?art=NjQy


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Hmm...
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 5:38 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 10:09 pm
Posts: 3794
Location: In Your Head
I've already read all of the nice benchies to further solidfy my choice of BFG 6800GT OC however, I was wondering whether or not Doom III uses the 3dc compression feature of the X800 series? It's also interesting to note that overclocking your GPU for more performance in Doom III may actually hinder it. Can anybody elaborate on that? :?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 5:49 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:24 pm
Posts: 4329
Location: Aggieland, TX
Didnt they release something similar to this a while back?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 6:02 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Wow, I can only imagine what that article is doing for 6800GT sales.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 6:27 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:14 pm
Posts: 2108
Location: I'm Not sure
somehow i dont think that artile is real and here is why. it says that the benchmarks where run on a P4 3.6Ghz on a mobo using a 915 Intel chipset, on which there is no AGP, and as far as i know ATI and Nvidia have not released there high end cards for PCI-E yet. and then theres the fact that doom 3 was supposed to have a FPS limiter at 60FPS i believe, i could be wrong on this though.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 6:31 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
toidiochysp wrote:
somehow i dont think that artile is real and here is why. it says that the benchmarks where run on a P4 3.6Ghz on a mobo using a 915 Intel chipset, on which there is no AGP, and as far as i know ATI and Nvidia have not released there high end cards for PCI-E yet. and then theres the fact that doom 3 was supposed to have a FPS limiter at 60FPS i believe, i could be wrong on this though.


I don't think ID would have any trouble getting prerelease samples of hardware, let alone for a game of this magnitude.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 6:54 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 568
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
PCI-Express samples have been around for quite a while man...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 8:13 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
looks like my geforce 6800 should perform great, as it does perform better than the last gen top end so it should be around 60fp at 1024x768 on high quality. yay!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 8:25 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24336
Location: South of heaven
toidiochysp wrote:
..on a mobo using a 915 Intel chipset, on which there is no AGP
Actually, it was a 925X: "It utilized a 3.6GHz Pentium 4 processor and 4GB of 533MHz DDR2 Ram on an Intel i925X motherboard. The video cards used of course were all PCI-Express interface video cards all with 256MB of video Ram"

And I also agree that, while WE can't get a PCIE card, [H]ard|ocp wouldn't have a problem with getting their mitts on one...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 8:56 pm 
Astro lube 2 the MAX!
Astro lube 2 the MAX!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 762
Location: Newton, KS
Reviewers always get the newest stuffies first before us consumers can get one. Why they do what they do so we can read and maybe make a decision when they come out.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 9:02 pm 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9602
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Keep in mind all that this wasn't done BY [H]ard|OCP, but by id Software themselves. Not only is it id, but with the most hottly anticipated game to date on the horizon, I don't see any manufacturer in their right minds refusing to give them prereleased hardware.

From the original link:
"folks at id Software have been kind enough to share with us benchmarks from the upcoming DOOM 3[...]Today we are sharing with you framerate data that was collected at the id Software offices in Mesquite, Texas."


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 4:38 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 1:48 pm
Posts: 241
Location: Whispering Evil Things in your ear...
Oh F*ck them.

As if getting a 6800 GT for it's retial price wasn't hard enough already...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ahhhhhh...the Doom3 benches finally!
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 5:55 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 5:56 am
Posts: 92
OJ wrote:
Finally I can make a decision on what video card to buy. Now if I can only get Nvidia to release a sufficient amount of cards.
http://www2.hardocp.com/article.html?art=NjQy


Awesome post! How can Average Joe get a hold of that benchy program? I want to see how my system does in Doom 3, not a system built with DDR2, PCIE, and possibly other hardware that's yet to be available mainstream.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 6:14 am 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
nVidia must be happy with those benches...

ATi better get with it


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 10:32 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 7:57 pm
Posts: 52
Especially considering the drivers are still in their early stages!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:29 am 
Astro lube 2 the MAX!
Astro lube 2 the MAX!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 762
Location: Newton, KS
I can't wait till the demo comes out for it. Then we all can find out if it runs any bit good on our systems.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:38 am 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 249
Location: Texas
I'd be lucky enough to get 2 fps :cry:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:53 am 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:14 pm
Posts: 2108
Location: I'm Not sure
OtterFisker wrote:
I'd be lucky enough to get 2 fps :cry:


i got 9 on the beta :|


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:49 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
OtterFisker wrote:
I'd be lucky enough to get 2 fps :cry:
whats your setup like?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:50 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
toidiochysp wrote:
OtterFisker wrote:
I'd be lucky enough to get 2 fps :cry:


i got 9 on the beta :|
im sure the final version will run better than the leaked alpha version did. the final version will be optomised to run better than early alphas were.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group