Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Aug 28, 2014 5:16 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Folding @ Home Install
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 8:24 am 
Professional Dork
Professional Dork
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 1246
Location: Cornhole County
Ok, someone requested a FAH install that asked only for the username and set up FAH.

I've done this. You can get the file here.

All you have to do is run the exe and it will pop a window that will ask for your FAH username. If you enter no username, it will default to mine. So if you want to help me, Great :D If not, that's your choice.

The install creates a service and runs FAH as a service, completely hidden unless you're poking about in Task Manager. The FAH that runs is the Console version with the "-service -local -advmethods -forcesse" flagset.

The only requirement I can think of is that it will need WinXP. It might work on Win2k, but I don't think NT or 9x will work.

I'll cross-post in Programmer's Paradise to see if any of our fellow MPC developers wants to help make this better.

Questions/requests for improvement are welcome.


Last edited by DEA on Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 11:25 am 
Folding Master (Top-ranked)
Folding Master (Top-ranked)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 9:37 pm
Posts: 79
Location: Florida Space Coast
Excellent work DEA, much appreciated.



Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 4:05 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:55 pm
Posts: 9227
Location: back on the right side of the middle of the left side YES i'm folding
amazing what superior minds can accomplish


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 10:50 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
i get an error when i run it, and so are all the people ive tried to get to run it.

"The application failed to initialize properly (0xc00001350. Click on OK to terminate the application"

i dunno what to do, ill just keep runnin it like i have been.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 12:29 pm 
Professional Dork
Professional Dork
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 1246
Location: Cornhole County
XHAOS wrote:
i get an error when i run it, and so are all the people ive tried to get to run it.

"The application failed to initialize properly (0xc00001350. Click on OK to terminate the application"

i dunno what to do, ill just keep runnin it like i have been.


At what point does it do this?

The .exe is created as an SFX archive with WinRAR, then unpacks to a temp directory and runs the actual app that I wrote.

So I'd be interested in seeing where this problem occurs.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:56 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
as soon as the exe is double clicked.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:48 am 
Professional Dork
Professional Dork
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 1246
Location: Cornhole County
What OS? I ran it fine on my wife's computer last night, and it's running XP with all the latest updates and no winrar.

If you have WinRAR installed on your computer, you could try extracting the files and running foldinst.exe manually.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:54 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
i have Windows XP Pro (everything is up to date), 1 of the other guys that ran it has Home, and the other has 2000, i dont know if theirs r up to date or not.

i try extracting it and running that file manually, same error. i will see if either of the other guys can get it to run that way.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:59 am 
Professional Dork
Professional Dork
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 1246
Location: Cornhole County
Ok it sounds like the problem is in my app.

Do they have the .NET framework installed? I wrote the app in VB.NET, and in theory that's all you should need. I'm not sure if you can get .NET installed on Win2K.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:07 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
ahhh, there was my problem .. i forgot to get the .NET Framework when i reinstalled windows the other day (all i installed was the critical updates, and then SP2 when it came out). Probably the guy with Home's problem too.

The 2000 problem i still dont know tho. He said he was able to enter the username, then it got the error.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Multiple Installs requires new download each time?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004 11:36 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 11:19 am
Posts: 3
Do I need to download the auto service install each time for a unique machine ID as mentioned in the console help below? How does your install work with unique ID's?

"Each different running copy of F@H has to have its own Machine ID number. If you download each copy of F@H from the web site and install fresh, there will be no problems."


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: unique computer id on install
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 1:38 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 11:19 am
Posts: 3
Never mind...Not that anyone here has responded anyway. I think this must be a pretty dead group.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2004 12:05 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
Dead THREAD, not dead group.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 5:38 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
can i run and intsall it if i'm not on an admin account?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 6:26 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 2:12 am
Posts: 16
Location: south korea
You have to have install permissions. So generally yes you have to have a admin/super user account.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 4:13 pm 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 15220
I tried to install it also, got the same error. I ended up getting the download from Stanford. My user name was taken, :( so I had to use my other user name of Roselvr.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 5:50 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 5:48 pm
Posts: 5
Help, I installed your version of Folding @ Home but now I want to uninstall it. How do I do that? There's no selection in "Add/Remove Programs" in the Control Panel. Help me please, thanks.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 10:56 am 
Team Creamsicles
Team Creamsicles
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 12:06 pm
Posts: 1397
Location: Montreal, Canada
im confused what is folding at home?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:22 pm 
Team Creamsicles
Team Creamsicles
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 12:06 pm
Posts: 1397
Location: Montreal, Canada
this happened after i clicked to download in first post and after i clicked on it and after i clicked install a message poped up saying :


an unhandeled exeption has occured.

then in details:


See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.IO.IOException: Path/File access error.
at Microsoft.VisualBasic.FileSystem.MkDir(String Path)
at Folding_Install.FAHInstall.install_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573
CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/microsoft.net/framework/v1.1.4322/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
Folding Install
Assembly Version: 1.0.1682.24993
Win32 Version: 1.0.1682.24993
CodeBase: file:///C:/DOCUME~1/Umar/LOCALS~1/Temp/RarSFX0/foldinst.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573
CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.windows.forms/1.0.5000.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.windows.forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573
CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system/1.0.5000.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573
CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.drawing/1.0.5000.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/system.drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
Assembly Version: 7.0.5000.0
Win32 Version: 7.10.3052.4
CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/microsoft.visualbasic/7.0.5000.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/microsoft.visualbasic.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just in time (JIT) debugging, the config file for this
application or machine (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the machine
rather than being handled by this dialog.



i was just thinking of deleting it off my pc and installing it again but it isnt in add/remoe programs...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 10:36 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 2:02 pm
Posts: 673
Location: Somewhere between here and there.
GreenMidgetYoda wrote:
im confused what is folding at home?


Glad to see your interested :) In short Folding at home is a distributed computing project that uses our spare computer cycles to do important scienctific research on how protein folding,(or misfolding), is related to several diseases. For the long explanation, go here.

Just search around this section of the forum, and you'll find most of the information you need. If not, just post a question and someone will be glad to help.

I'm not sure how often HK-47 check's this particular FAQ so you may want to PM him with your problem about the installer.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Wheels Up and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group