Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 3:59 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Far Cry 3
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 5:30 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
chaosdsm wrote:
Anyone rockin this on a GTX-460/470/480 at 1920x1080 / 1920x1200??? If so, what settings you using & what kind of performance ya gettin??? I hope to pick it up shortly after Christmas :)


I'm playing it on a 260 GTX and it looks great AND playable at 1920x1200. The only things that I have set to "high" are geometry and textures. Which is what I initially set it thinking that if it was to ugly I'd bump up the settings until I noticed stuttering. But after playing it and seeing how good it looked I didn't bother changing anything.

I'll see how "high" I can bump up the settings and let you know what kind of performance I get.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Far Cry 3
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 10:55 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
I set everything I could to high settings but because I only have a 260 GTX it is only running in DX9 mode.

Also for some reason the anti-aliasing is disabled in the menu so I couldn't turn that on.

But it still runs smoothly at these settings. I couldn't find how to show the framerate in game. Does anybody know how to do this? Google was no help.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Far Cry 3
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 11:01 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 5049
The reason why DirectX 9 mode can't enable AA is because of the likelihood the engine uses deferred shading. Traditional AA doesn't work with deferred shading and I guess for some reason there was no provisions made for shader model based AA (FXAA for instance, but you should be able to force it in the control panel).

Also use FRAPS. Just get the free version.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Far Cry 3
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 11:28 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:45 pm
Posts: 2993
Location: Central Florida
I've seen mixed reports of performance, but if you're playing 1080p smoothly on a 260, I guess I shouldn't have any worries :)

RE FPS display: try the help function in command console (if it's still the same) ~ key then ? I think it used to be showFPS1 or showFPS 1 or showFPS_1 or something like that.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Far Cry 3
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 1:58 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:55 pm
Posts: 9217
Location: back on the right side of the middle of the left side YES i'm folding
I am running a 570 classified, between 30-60+fps with almost everything on high. thats with an old Q9550 and 8gig of memory on vista64.

edit: 1920x1080


Last edited by g.m.waters (red ranger3) on Tue Dec 18, 2012 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Far Cry 3
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 3:43 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
So I ran FRAPS and got an average of 25 fps with a minimum of 15 and a maximum of 31. These numbers were obtained with everything on high and at 1920x1200.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Far Cry 3
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:16 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
I finally got all of the single player achievements.

I think that took longer than actually playing the story the first time. :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Far Cry 3
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:23 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 12:28 am
Posts: 267
Location: Sleeping...
I've almost finished it. Very much enjoyed it so far...

As an aside; constant 60+ FPS at 2560 x 1600 with (almost) everything maxed using two GTX670's in SLI.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Far Cry 3
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2013 1:06 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 10:20 pm
Posts: 5
I recently finished it. It's great. I like its climate - quite similar to Far Cry 1.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Far Cry 3
PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 12:38 pm 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:47 am
Posts: 10158
Location: Between 32nd Notes
Has anybody completed the game on Master difficulty?

I just did and they only thing that I noticed that was different was a few more baddies in the later missions. Their tactics seemed the same too.

The amount of resources were the same so I had the same amount of bullets and medic kits.

Also with the update was the option to reset the outposts. When you do this your skills stay and weapons stay intact so in theory it should be easier to do most of the 1st islands outposts.

So I'm going to try and get 1500 points on all outposts.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group