Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 11:35 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Booting from multiple OS's
PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:09 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:06 pm
Posts: 1
I have my original set of 2, 150GB drives set in RAID 0 with mutiple OS's on it. 2-XP's, 1-Vista and 1-Win7. I disconnected this RAID set and installed a new SSD and installed Win 7 on that. When I installed everything together and boot, it goes into the boot screen giving me the option of the different OS's I've installed ACCEPT the new SSD. The only way I can boot to it is to go into the BIOS and change the RAID option to AHCI and re-boot which then boots directly into the new SSD with no choice of the other OS's to use.

Is there anyway of booting to the screen to show the different OS choices including the new SSD Win7? In other words, it would let me be able to pick from the 2 Win 7's with out having to change the boot sequense? Or does it have to do with one Win 7 being on a RAID set and the new one is not?

-------------------------------------------
Ary off the record


Last edited by PrudevKrepropiar on Thu Jul 18, 2013 2:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Booting from multiple OS's
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 11:05 am 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:05 am
Posts: 527
Location: Sittin' downtown at the railway station, one toke over the line.
With the RAID disconnected the new Windows 7 install has its own boot sector on the SSD. You need a BCD entry on the RAID for the new Win7. A few options:
1) If you haven't really done anything with the new install I think you could just re-install Win7 on the SSD but without unplugging the RAID, this should put the boot entry on the RAID instead of the SSD. 2) Feel comfortable in the Command Prompt (Processor, whatever) Bootrec.exe should let you add or copy over the entry from the SSD 3) I think the freeware EasyBCD will let you do the same thing as #2.

You'll probably want to do a little research and take some precautions because this has the potential to seriously screw some stuff up (like not being able to boot at all). #1 is probably the safest and most pain in the ass. Others may be able to give different or more specific advice, but this should point you in the right direction.

I hadn't used EasyBCD in years. I just downloaded the latest version and checked it out. I think you can fix this easily using it. I am not a shill for NeoSmart Technologies.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Booting from multiple OS's
PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 2:33 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 1147
You will need to move your SSD off the RAID Controller. Once that is done and you have the boot menu for the other OSes and make sure its all working. Put the Win7 disk in and do a boot repair, it should see your install on the SSD and then allow you fix the bootloader on the RAID Array and add Win7 to it.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group