Twitter Going After Domain Squatter
Everyone’s favorite short messaging service, Twitter has decided to squash a particularly bothersome cyber-squatter. The site in question is at Twiter.com. It’s not just the name that looks suspiciously similar. The site at that domain leverages Twitter’s UI aesthetic to essentially scam users out of cold hard cash.
The real Twitter has filed a complaint with the World Intellectual Property Organization for trademark infringement. The complaint, which costs $1500 to file, allows the owners of notable brands the opportunity to claim domain names that infringe on their trademarks.The sticking point being that Twitter needs to prove that the other domain was registered in bad faith. Twiter.com was purchased in 2004, two years before Twitter existed.
However, Twitter’s case might be easier to prove than one would expect. The domain has changed hands several times, and now hosts something of a scam. Visitors to Twiter.com see a page done up in Twitter’s characteristic light blue. They are invited to participate in a survey for the chance to win a variety of prizes. But users are asked to pay to participate in the survey. Shady, absolutely, but should Twitter be allowed to take over the domain?
Comments
Comments are closed on this article
![]()
Holly Golightly
June 13, 2011 at 8:42pm
Wow, this is a tough one. Registered 2 years before, but used to soliticit cash out of people. I think what browsers should do is protect their users by referring them to the correct Twitter, and not the pointless one. Since it has been handed down to many owners, I would recommend them to go through with filing the claim, and shut them down. What next, Del Computers? Aser? Ebey? MaxmumPC? I think that the more popular business should be protected from thos evil paid survey scammers.
![]()
Keith E. Whisman
June 13, 2011 at 5:26pm
I kinda remember either MaximumPC, CPU Mag, or Computer Shopper mag doing a story where they went thru the hoops to get an Ipod. They discovered that these guys aren't scams. So what are these guys, are they scams or what? Do you actually get an Ipad 2 if you try out a few of the services?
![]()
schneider1492
June 15, 2011 at 12:25am
there are legitimate sites out there, but not all of them. i believe the dog checked one out a few years back but cant recall the specifics.
![]()
Frank N Beenes
June 13, 2011 at 4:16pm
These are the dbags that anonymous should be destroying. Them and the spamming crack wipes that are destroying every forum these days.
Log in to MaximumPC directly or log in using Facebook
Forgot your username or password?
Click here for help.

















