Modern Warfare 4 No Match for Web-Savvy Gamers
Posted 07/30/09 at 12:15:53 AM by Nathan Grayson

No, that’s not a typo. We are, in fact, referring to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4, the sequel to a sequel to a game that’s not even out yet. Confused? Let us break things down for you.
A group of intrepid, potentially top hat and mustachio-sporting gamers known as the Zip Gaming Community have hijacked modernwarfare4.com. Or rather, they’ve obtained it through completely legal means long before Activision even considered annexing that particular URL into its web empire. But let’s not mince words here; Zip’s basically holding the page hostage, and they’ve even posted a list of demands in exchange for its safe return.
“There is a chance that you may well require this domain. Don't worry, you can have it - in exchange for a little 'good will gesture' for the little gaming community that owns this domain and has been playing your games for years,” reads a letter to Infinity Ward on modernwarfare4.com.
“What we'd like is a copy of the game that this domain would be used for - one copy for each and every member of our gaming community.”
So long as the Modern Warfare franchise stays in Infinity Ward’s infinitely capable hands, Modern Warfare 4 will probably surface around 2013. These guys have their eyes on the prize and can see for miles, it would seem.
Interestingly, the email address attached to this whole fiasco is “welovecod@ziip.co.uk.” Now, as ubiased, unfeeling machines of pure journalistic integrity, we’re no experts on love, but come on; at least try a more believable shtick. Like, for instance, say that you’re all time-warping freedom fighters from the future who need to base a simulation around Modern Warfare 4 so that a group of super smart children can unknowingly use it to fight off a bug-like alien menace. Anything, so long as it’s more believable than this “love” crap.
(This article was made possible in part by The Escapist and viewers like you.)
I joined the community just
Submitted by vistageek on Thu, 07/30/2009 - 9:23pm
I joined the community just in case!!!
Woohoo for Ender's Game
Submitted by AkuPenguin on Thu, 07/30/2009 - 3:43pm
Woohoo for Ender's Game references!
haha, activision is not
Submitted by comptech08 on Thu, 07/30/2009 - 9:12am
haha, activision is not going to honor their demands. They will simply create a differant URL, or have a page on one of their websites dedicated to it.
Well, it seems that they run
Submitted by AntiHero on Thu, 07/30/2009 - 10:20am
Well, it seems that they run all of the sites off of subdomains anyhow. modernwarfare2.infntyward.com is te actual domain, and modernwarfare2.com redirects to it. I'm sure they can do mw3.com or mw4.com.
I don't like Microsoft, I associate with it.
i keep telling clients to
Submitted by nekollx on Thu, 07/30/2009 - 8:34am
i keep telling clients to be mindful of domains or this could happen...
------------------------------
Coming soon to Lulu.com --Tokusatsu Heroes--
Five teenagers, one alien ghost, a robot, and the fate of the world.
:o
Submitted by robotsneedhugs2 on Wed, 07/29/2009 - 9:49pm
Someone's got http://www.modernwarfare3.com/ too
Um...
Submitted by Dragoon_Jett on Thu, 07/30/2009 - 4:40am
That would be Activision.
Nerf Paper.
Scissors are fine.
Sincerely, Rock.
Um...
Submitted by mesiah on Thu, 07/30/2009 - 11:48pm
That would be false.
Here is the whois results for modernwarfare3.com:
Registrant:
Anthony AbrahamRegistered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: MODERNWARFARE3.COM
Here is the results for modernwarfare2.com:
Registrant:
Mary Tuck
Activision Publishing, Inc
3100 Ocean Park Blvd.
Santa Monica CA 90405
US
domains@activision.com +1.3102552000 Fax: +1.3102552152
modernwarfare4.com skirts disclosure by using the whois privacy protection service.
Please do not state your assumptions as fact.
Feature
Review
Feature
Feature
Feature






